Mic with Ring Mod

Plug in here for info tips and strategies for your Moogerfooger Analog Effects. Connect more than one for plenty of fun!
ColinSnow

Mic with Ring Mod

Post by ColinSnow » Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:02 pm

Ok, so I'm going to admit off the bat that I'm new to this kind of equipment.

If I wanted to hook up a microphone and possibly a speaker to the MF-102 Ring Modulator how would I go about doing that ?

Bryan T

Post by Bryan T » Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:05 am

Microphone -> mixer. Ring mod on one of the effects inserts on the mixer. Mixer -> amplifier -> speakers.

It could be as big or as small as you'd like, possibly all (mixer, amp, speaker) in one device.

mayidunk

Post by mayidunk » Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:58 pm

The specific connections on the ringmod would be:
  • 1. Mic > mixer mic in

2. Mixer effects send > MF-102 audio in

3. MF-102 audio out > mixer effects receive

4. Mixer audio out > amplifier instrument in
The use of a mixer is advised if the mic uses a balanced connector (as most mics do). Otherwise, you might be able to skip the mixer and plug the mic directly into the MF-102's audio input.

The effects send/receive connection on the mixer uses an insert cable. The insert cable has three plugs, one stereo, and two mono. The stereo plug goes into the mixer's effect send/receive jack, while one mono plug goes into the MF-102 audio in, and the other mono plug goes into the MF-102 audio out. (One mono plug connects to the ring, and the other mono plug connects to the tip of the stereo plug that goes into the mixer. The mono plugs will be marked as to which one is the tip, and which one is the ring.) The mixer sends the signal from the mic on the tip of the insert cable's stereo plug, and receives the signal back on the ring. However, be advised that this might be reversed in that, the mic signal may sent on the ring, and received on the tip. Check your mixer's user manual to be sure.

I hope this helps. Experiment, you can't hurt anything.

ColinSnow