Click/Pop when scrolling thru Menu

Polyphonic Analog Synthesizer
Post Reply
DLove
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 4:22 pm

Click/Pop when scrolling thru Menu

Post by DLove » Tue Aug 11, 2020 12:12 pm

Hi All, Hope everyone is safe, healthy and sane.

Lately I’ve noticed that when I’m scrolling through the patch menu, that action of turning the wheel and scrolling through each named preset creates a click, like an electrical click. Has anyone experienced this?

Thanks, David
Model D Reissue - Source - MP-201 - CP-251 - All the Moogerfoogers except FreqBox and Filter.

Matthias Adloff
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2020 3:40 pm

Re: Click/Pop when scrolling thru Menu

Post by Matthias Adloff » Sun Aug 30, 2020 4:29 pm

Yes. The more presets you have, the worse it gets.
And it's more to this issue: If your preset list is at 1.000 or more, the arpeggiator will also slow down or stutter while searching for a preset or just entering the preset browser.
I think the CPU is not capable of querying a larger SQLite database (which is used in the ONE). When I add both GEO addons and all additional factory stuff, the database is at around 130 MBytes. This a lot of data for a synth, and most of the data is redundant. All parameters are stored with their description as strings, which is very strange.

To be more precise, one preset eats up between 110kByte and 800kByte, depending on its sequencer data. If we ignore the sequencer data, Moog needs 112.640 bytes to describe about 3000 different parameters. That is a great waste of space. Why? Let's assume that all digits are save as doubles with 64bit precision, and that we have 2000 doubles and 800 booleans and 200 smaller strings (16 characters) with UTF-8. That would mean 2000*2 + 800/16 + 200*16 = 4000 + 50 + 3200 = 7250 Bytes = 7KBytes per preset. Thus, 94% of the space are wasted.

However, if you're in the studio, that shouldn't bother you much. For a live scenario, create a new user space with only a few dozens presets, and you're fine to go.

Matthias Adloff
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2020 3:40 pm

Re: Click/Pop when scrolling thru Menu

Post by Matthias Adloff » Sat Dec 12, 2020 6:08 pm

Noone else? I think this is a common problem, since all 5 Moog Ones that I had under my fingertips had the same problem.

jdkJake
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 12:31 pm
Location: Seminole, FL

Re: Click/Pop when scrolling thru Menu

Post by jdkJake » Sun Dec 13, 2020 12:30 pm

Yes, it is a known problem. Ideally, moog will address it in the next update.
—jk—

Post Reply