LP Stage newbie questions - very noisy filter cutoff!

Everything Phatty.
voodoochilimoog

LP Stage newbie questions - very noisy filter cutoff!

Post by voodoochilimoog » Tue May 06, 2008 3:44 pm

Hey everyone. Glad to be a part of the forums. I just bought a LP Stage, and I'm pretty new to synthesizers. I have a few questions after a few weeks of use that I'd love to have answered.

#1) Is it normal to have a buzzing noise in the upper register of the 4' octave when the filter resonance is at about 50% and the filter cutoff is at 25%? What I really dig about Moogs is the classic, smooth, tone of one oscillator. I have oscillator 2 turned all the way down, and I'm wondering if it's normal to hear a background noise in upper register notes that is almost as loud as the note itself. It is a really annoying buzzing noise!

#2.) A smallish chunk of styrofoam dropped in between the keys of the keyboard when I was unpacking it. It wasn't big, but I'm wondering how the keys work and whether it could be a potential problem worth sending back to the factory. I'd rather have be fixed now than have something break a year from now.

Thanks for your help!

Sky

Extraborg

Post by Extraborg » Tue May 06, 2008 4:57 pm

Yes, unfortunately, this is normal. There is a known issue with the Tribute and Stage that there is a digital interference of some sort in the upper registar, which (ironically) sounds like aliasising. There is a mod available. Contact Amos for details.

For some of the complicated story you can try:

http://moogmusic.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... highlight=

and

http://moogmusic.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4981

Don't let it spoil your fun - it's a wonderful synth

Khoral

Post by Khoral » Tue May 06, 2008 5:57 pm

I hope it'll be fixed with the OS update, and not a hardware fix, but Moog Music is pretty silent about this
https//www.facebook.com/khoral80

"Children are the future... that's why they must be stopped" - H. J. Simpson

T7