midi guitar and a voyager

Tips and techniques for Minimoog Analog Synthesizers
redeyeflight

midi guitar and a voyager

Post by redeyeflight » Wed Sep 19, 2007 3:15 pm

Is it possible to hook up a midi equipped guitar through it's roland interface into a voyager to control its sounds via the guitar?

latigid on

Post by latigid on » Fri Sep 21, 2007 3:35 am

Surely any device that sends MIDI can be interpreted by a MIDI keyboard like the voyager?

I was actually considering a GK pickup and the Roland interface (GI-20) a few years ago as I was a bass guitarist "by trade", but decided that a keyboard was a more versatile instrument. Another reason was hearing those stories about terrible pitch tracking, misfired triggers and the like.

It sounds like several Moogers have tried (or have just talked about trying) using MIDI guitars to generate control signals by guitar->MIDI->CV. Just search "GI-20" on this forum.

dr_floyd

Post by dr_floyd » Sun Sep 23, 2007 6:52 am

The Voyager can be controlled from any MIDI source. Some Roland guitar synthesizers do string to midi conversion, so if yours has that feature, then it will work if you take the time to set it up properly - the Voyager is monophonic, so you'll have to adjust your playing to make sure it's only getting one note to track unless you like very unpredictable results!

New Roland VG99 does pitch to MIDI
Older VG8 and VG88 do NOT.
As mentioned the Roland GI-20 will convert 6 strings to MIDI, as will the older GI-10
Axon has a guitar to MIDI converter
Yamaha G50 is similar to the Axon
Roland GM70 is a string to MIDI for older 24 pin Roland GK pickups.

Mooguitar

Post by Mooguitar » Fri Sep 28, 2007 9:26 am

I get great results using the Roland GI-10 with the RME Voyager. I also have the Voyager simultaneously hooked up to the VX-352...so I can control parameters with Exp. pedals, hands free of course is great if you're playing a guitar....

I send the stereo output of the Moog into some multiFX and a looper.