MAVIS sequencing noob question with Akai Mini Plus

In a Moog Mood? Here's a forum for discussion of general Moog topics.
Silber10101

MAVIS sequencing noob question with Akai Mini Plus

Post by Silber10101 » Sun Sep 03, 2023 5:28 pm

Hi all,

I'm a complete newbie with my first analog (Mavis) and I'm trying to get the Akai Mini Plus sequencer to work with the Mavis to no avail. Does anyone know how to get this running? I have the Pitch, Gate, Mod all working and clock out from the Akai to the Mavis (not sure if I'm in the right input tbh) but can't seem to get it to work.

Thanks in advance.

Almost Aviation

Re: MAVIS sequencing noob question with Akai Mini Plus

Post by Almost Aviation » Wed Nov 29, 2023 2:50 pm

This is a bit late, so maybe you're sorted now. I don't have that sequencer but maybe you need to check it sends the right gate format. I have my MAVIS connected to a KeyStep Pro and I have the gate format set to 'V-trig 5V', which works. (The other options are 'V-trig 12V' and 'S-Trig'. S-Trig doesn't work - it looks like a much lower voltage - and I didn't try the 12V one cos it sounds bad :) You don't need a clock.
MarkH

analogmonster

Post by analogmonster » Thu Nov 30, 2023 1:56 am

Almost Aviation wrote: Wed Nov 29, 2023 2:50 pm S-Trig doesn't work - it looks like a much lower voltage
The reason is that there is *no* voltage at all at the S-Trig. An S-Trig is a current sink, and no voltage source like V-Trigs. In each and every aspect the complete opposite. If you connect a (Moog) S-Trig Output of one device to a V-Gate Input of another device you connect two sinks together - so nothing happens at all.

Almost Aviation

Post by Almost Aviation » Thu Nov 30, 2023 5:57 am