New Etherwave kit malunction.. help!

Share your theremin experience: tips, tricks, techniques, favorite theremin moments.
bblumenthal

New Etherwave kit malunction.. help!

Post by bblumenthal » Sun Jan 02, 2005 10:48 am

Dear folks, I'm a long-time kit builder; Dynaco and Hafler stuff, and have designed and built audio loudspeaker systems for years. The Etherwave kit is a walk in the park; I built it w/ my two sons to help get them started on electronic work. Here's the problem.. the volume antenna works backwards. No sound is produced unless you're pretty much touching the antenna, and full volume is not acheived w/out gripping it pretty strongly. When we first powered it up and got no sound at all, I thought the power supply was defective, but taking measurements at various points on the board showed that power was indeed present. It wasn't until I brushed against the volume antenna by mistake and fiddled w/ L5 and L6 that we finally got "first light." L5 and L6 were WAY off upon delivery, but we've got them pretty close now, although can only get about 2 - 2 1/2 usable octaves. I can NOT solve the reverse sensing volume antenna problem. Additionally, capacitors 31 and 32 are absent from the circuit board, although there are spots on the board to mount them. The IC used on the board does not have a socket as mentioned in the hot-rodding manual, and it is not the same IC,either.

The audio out jack did not have the same pin configuration as the jack shown in the assembly manual. Judging from the schematic, I wired the yellow wire from the multi pin connector to the tip lug. Correct?

Any help folks can give would be most appreciated. My sons are still excited about the project (and both excellent string players; I'm a violinist/violist professionally), but I hate to see their enthusiasm wane due to these technical issues.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Barry

kamal

Re: New Etherwave kit malunction.. help!

Post by kamal » Fri Jan 07, 2005 2:59 pm