help me choose an interface

Everything Phatty.
thefunktopus

help me choose an interface

Post by thefunktopus » Mon Apr 06, 2009 11:14 pm

I am not an expert on hardware but am slowly building a small home studio that so far consists of a macbook, Live, Reason, mackie micro series 1202 mixer, korg padkontrol, and of course the LP. I dont want to lose the sound that makes the phatty what it is, but am not looking to spend 500+ on a interface. I was looking at the presonus firebox which seems like a practical solution, but I would like some advice from other LP users. thanks

Bryan T

Re: help me choose an interface

Post by Bryan T » Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:06 am

thefunktopus wrote:I am not an expert on hardware but am slowly building a small home studio that so far consists of a macbook, Live, Reason, mackie micro series 1202 mixer, korg padkontrol, and of course the LP. I dont want to lose the sound that makes the phatty what it is, but am not looking to spend 500+ on a interface. I was looking at the presonus firebox which seems like a practical solution, but I would like some advice from other LP users. thanks
I would go with an Apogee Duet if it is compatible with your computer.

thefunktopus

Post by thefunktopus » Tue Apr 07, 2009 1:16 am

the duet is a consideration... but a bit expensive and a few more channels wouldn't hurt

Bryan T

Post by Bryan T » Tue Apr 07, 2009 1:31 am

thefunktopus wrote:the duet is a consideration... but a bit expensive and a few more channels wouldn't hurt
Apogee's A/D conversion is great. The preamps have a tone of gain, too, if you need that.

r05c03

Post by r05c03 » Tue Apr 07, 2009 8:06 am

Presonus Firestudio
MF-102, MF-107, MF-m105, CP-251, MP-201, Elektron Octatrack, Filter Factory...

kumasynthtones

High Rating for the Mackie Onyx Satellite Firewire $179

Post by kumasynthtones » Wed Apr 08, 2009 1:12 am