LFO rate ?

Everything Phatty.
Sir Nose

LFO rate ?

Post by Sir Nose » Mon Mar 30, 2009 7:13 pm

Can the LFO rate be set to follow the keyboard?

Sir Nose

Post by Sir Nose » Wed Apr 01, 2009 8:38 am

Sorry if this is a total newb question. I would like to get the LFO rate to increase as I move up the keyboard and descrease as I move down. I want the rate to be way slower than the oscillators.

Voltor07

Post by Voltor07 » Wed Apr 01, 2009 2:16 pm

Nope. I can't get mine to do that. Which is not to say it's impossible, though it very well might be. If the LFO rate is assignable to MIDI and you have a program that can send MIDI info(I don't use MIDI myself, so I have no idea how that works) you might be able to pull it off. :?
Minitaur, CP-251, EHX #1 Echo, EHX Space Drums/Crash Pads, QSC GX-3, Pyramid stereo power amp, Miracle Pianos, Walking Stick ribbon controller, Synthutron.com, 1983 Hammond organ, dot com modular.

jgirv

Post by jgirv » Wed Apr 01, 2009 3:43 pm

... what do you mean "if you have a program that can send MIDI" ... any sequencer or DAW would be able to do that, including free ones.

AFAIK, MIDI control CAN be a problem in controlling the very heart of an analog synth (but in the LP the resolution of MIDI tied to the filter cutoff is very large indeed) BUT:

It is an incredibly stable and useful protocol for sending note information, and a great help to programmers in storage.

The timing/accuarcy of MIDI's parts per quarter has ceased being an issue for many years now. And for those of us playing live, the combination of MIDI equipment processors with CV control where possible is a great addition to our rigs. It's not a badge of honor to say you don't use it.

EricK

Post by EricK » Wed Apr 01, 2009 4:50 pm

If you had a Voyager, Osc 3 would do exactly that, since the keyboard pitch voltage would be modulating the Osc and Osc 3 would be in LFO mode.

I don't know if this is possible on a Phatty.
Support the Bob Moog Foundation: