Faulty LP

Everything Phatty.
plainlazy
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:27 pm

Faulty LP

Post by plainlazy » Tue Jan 13, 2009 1:00 pm

Hi all,

I bought a LP from ebay just before xmas and there’s a bit of an issue with it. Since owning it I’ve updated the OS to the latest version but a problem has occurred that the LP controls itself. For example I can leave the LP with the preset button emitting yellow (meaning preset hasn’t been altered) and not touch it, but after a while it will go red and a values of one of the knobs will change on its own accord. For example say if a preset has the pitch of osc2 set to 0, it will change itself in accordance to the knobs' position, resulting that the pitch could suddenly change a couple of semi-tones. This happens to all the knobs and I’ve re-installed the OS. This problem happened once before but then sorted itself out, however its gone back to acting randomly.

I've read that it could be a grounding issue, however I live in the UK where the plug sockets are earthed and I’ve changed the power lead but still no luck. For some reason the LP doesn’t do this strange behaviour if the knobs are all set to 0? Has anyone else had this issue and managed to fix it?

Many Thanks

Andrew

Sir Nose
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 11:15 am

Post by Sir Nose » Tue Jan 13, 2009 1:10 pm

I have had this issue. Seems to only happen to me while the LP is warming up. After being on for a half an hour, I don't recall it happening. I also purchased a used LP stage 1, 2 weeks ago. The 1st time I was like what the hell is going on. I'm not sure what the issue is.

I also had an issue not being able to change what variable any of the 4 knobs is changing. Ex. In the Osc section, osc 2 freq is selected, I want to alter osc 2 waveform press the button and nothing. This only happened with the ARP latched. I cancelled out the arp and all returned to normal. I'm not at a performace level yet, but it would have caused major issues had I been playing live.

plainlazy
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:27 pm

Post by plainlazy » Tue Jan 13, 2009 1:51 pm

strange. this problem happened before and I overcame it by leaving the LP on for a few hours with all the knobs set to zero (fully to the left/ 7 o’clock). For some reason the problem doesn’t happen if all the knobs are set to zero, however as soon as I positioned the knobs the problem will reoccur again???

Is this part of the beauty of analogue or just a fault with the synths' power unit?

plainlazy
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:27 pm

Post by plainlazy » Tue Jan 13, 2009 1:51 pm

forgot to ask are you from the UK as well Sir Nose?

EricK
Posts: 5977
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 2:09 pm

Post by EricK » Tue Jan 13, 2009 2:41 pm

Do you have a stage or a tribute version?
Support the Bob Moog Foundation:
https://moogfoundation.org/do-something-2/donate/

I think I hear the mothership coming.

User avatar
Voltor07
Posts: 5195
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 3:04 am
Location: Waukegan, IL USA
Contact:

Post by Voltor07 » Tue Jan 13, 2009 3:38 pm

Sounds like a power issue to me. When I switched out the LED's in the LHC, a couple of the leads were touching, and it threw the whole thing for a loop. :lol: Maybe Amos could help you figure out what's going on? I got hollered at the last time I told someone to open their synth...and rightfully so. :?
Sub 37 #000068, Minitaur, CP-251, MF-102&103, EHX #1 Echo, EHX Space Drums/Crash Pads, QSC GX-3, Miracle Pianos, Walking Stick ribbon controller, Synthutron.com, 1983 Hammond organ.

plainlazy
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:27 pm

Post by plainlazy » Tue Jan 13, 2009 4:17 pm

my LP is a stage edition (first edition with silver back). This might sounds a little dumb but who is Amos? as i'll be needing help to resolve this issue. I have seen that you can buy a replacement power unit for LP, and have been told that you can mod the first stage edition of the LP with the power unit of the stage II edition resulting in having USB support!

Andrew

plainlazy
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:27 pm

Post by plainlazy » Tue Jan 13, 2009 4:51 pm

i got a reply from moog support via email and i was told to open up the front panel and ensure that the cables are in place. Sadly that hasn’t appeared to help as the problem still persists!

User avatar
Voltor07
Posts: 5195
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 3:04 am
Location: Waukegan, IL USA
Contact:

Post by Voltor07 » Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:07 pm

plainlazy wrote:my LP is a stage edition (first edition with silver back). This might sounds a little dumb but who is Amos?

Andrew
Amos Gaynes is the man at Moog who usually posts on these forums, but has been rather busy lately working on the various projects that keep Moog Music profitable. As far as I can tell, he's the number one LP resource at Moog Music. He's responsible for doing the custom light job on my Stage I.

I hope you figure out the problem. I've never encountered such an issue myself, but my instinct tells me it could be a bad power cord. Simple, I know, but try that. Then e-mail Amos at moogmusic.com. :wink:
Sub 37 #000068, Minitaur, CP-251, MF-102&103, EHX #1 Echo, EHX Space Drums/Crash Pads, QSC GX-3, Miracle Pianos, Walking Stick ribbon controller, Synthutron.com, 1983 Hammond organ.

plainlazy
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:27 pm

Post by plainlazy » Wed Jan 14, 2009 5:00 am

Voltor07 wrote:
plainlazy wrote:my LP is a stage edition (first edition with silver back). This might sounds a little dumb but who is Amos?

Andrew
Amos Gaynes is the man at Moog who usually posts on these forums, but has been rather busy lately working on the various projects that keep Moog Music profitable. As far as I can tell, he's the number one LP resource at Moog Music. He's responsible for doing the custom light job on my Stage I.

I hope you figure out the problem. I've never encountered such an issue myself, but my instinct tells me it could be a bad power cord. Simple, I know, but try that. Then e-mail Amos at moogmusic.com. :wink:
cheers voltor07, one of the firsts things i tried was change the power cable and the plug socket the LP was connected to. I've even plugged it into another room to see whether the it could be faulty power plug sockets, but no luck.

I'll ask this Amos guy has he did help build the machine! :wink:

jgirv
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 8:01 am

Post by jgirv » Wed Jan 14, 2009 8:26 am

...moogers, don't forget that it's NAMM in a few days and Amos might be there already, if he's goin'... in case you don't get a reply right away...

Sir Nose
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 11:15 am

Post by Sir Nose » Wed Jan 14, 2009 11:04 am

plainlazy wrote:forgot to ask are you from the UK as well Sir Nose?
I'm in the U.S.

User avatar
Voltor07
Posts: 5195
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 3:04 am
Location: Waukegan, IL USA
Contact:

Post by Voltor07 » Wed Jan 14, 2009 12:36 pm

jgirv wrote:...moogers, don't forget that it's NAMM in a few days and Amos might be there already, if he's goin'... in case you don't get a reply right away...
Crap, that's right! :shock: I forgot. :lol: We may be waiting for a reply for a while.
Sub 37 #000068, Minitaur, CP-251, MF-102&103, EHX #1 Echo, EHX Space Drums/Crash Pads, QSC GX-3, Miracle Pianos, Walking Stick ribbon controller, Synthutron.com, 1983 Hammond organ.

alamilla
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 7:35 pm
Location: London via Belize

Post by alamilla » Mon Jan 26, 2009 8:35 pm

Have you had a response regarding the problem yet?
my Little Phatty just started to have the same problem that people have been complaining about here - and it's incredibly irritating!
no matter what I attempt to do, the Oscillator section's knob setting changes itself for each parameter accordingly
so as you said, if I was to alter the Oscillator level to 12 o'clock and then press the waveform button it will move itself to that respective position too, regardless of the preset

I don't think it is a problem with the OS as some people have suggested because I have had OS 2 installed on my LP since last summer and this problem has never occurred

any new solutions?

Amos
Posts: 2438
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 3:11 pm

Post by Amos » Mon Jan 26, 2009 11:53 pm

Hi; Amos here.... I'm back from NAMM, mostly, although I still have dozens of emails to catch up with. I'm sorry to hear about these problems and I'll certainly do my best to help. In general, it seems safe to say that a Little Phatty with no earth connection problems will not have wandering parameter values, and a phatty with some sort of earth connection problems can indeed have wandering parameter values. The origin of the problem could be the mains power, could be the mains power lead to the synth, or it could be a problematic connection within the synth itself. I will discuss this with the rest of our engineering team and come up with some suggestions. Anyone who is having this sort of trouble is welcome to email me at (my name) at moogmusic dot com for more direct assistance.

very kind regards,

Amos

Post Reply