Little Phatty tone creation help

Everything Phatty.
Saxobone

Little Phatty tone creation help

Post by Saxobone » Sun May 22, 2016 7:31 pm

I am new to analog synth. Been playing keyboards for 20 years though.
I am under the impression that in order to get the sound I want, I should start with a basic sound (1 Oscillator? 2?) and then learn what every knob and button on the machine does.
There is only one preset that I even really like (Mischievous [kind of Jan Hammer ish])

Can someone please explain to me how to start with a naked tone, and build it up with filter, etc?

sorry for such the noob question...I just want to start right.
I haven't brought it out on gigs purposely so I don't get into the habit of using a preset.

Thank you

autoy

Re: Little Phatty tone creation help

Post by autoy » Sat May 28, 2016 7:10 pm

HI! You don't need to start from an initialization state to create something that's on your mind. You can think of presets as templates which you then adapt to your own taste. I mostly never use a preset as it is because it's very rare that the sound is perfectly suited to my compositions without touching it. I can find something similar and then take it from there.

Once you perfectly understand not only what each parameter does but also it's range and how it affects other parameters you can use an initialization patch (usually patch 0 in a bank) to get what you need pretty fast. For example I know what kind of sound will I get if I use VCO2 to modulate the filter at audio range and then apply sync. I have that in my head before I program it, that's because I've been learning my Phatty inside out for a year now. I know how fast or slow the envelope and LFO can be, I know what inverting the envelope does and that it needs an open cutoff to really work. It's only then, after learning synthesis basics and knowing your machine inside out that you can venture into making presets from a scratch to achieve a certain sound in your head.