Slim Phatty and Korg SQ1 via CV different tuning

Everything Phatty.
funkateer01

Slim Phatty and Korg SQ1 via CV different tuning

Post by funkateer01 » Thu Mar 26, 2015 5:56 am

Hi Guys!
I have a Slim Phatty for a couple of month and purchased a Korg SQ1 last week. For the first time in my life i patched two synth over gate and CV Pitch Connections, so I'm completely new to that stuff, only did midi-Connections bevor.
When i have my slim phatty pitch cv patched to the SQ1, the tuning is way off. Lowest note is supposed to be a c (which actually is when a Change the Connection to Midi), but it plays an e, and the distance to the highest is considerably less than an octave, somewhat between 10 and 11 semitones.
Autotune on Slim phatty is off and the CV Settings on the Korg are 1V/octave!
I'm I doing something wrong here? Probably a bad Korg SQ1? Ore maybe Korg and SP aren't compatible at all?
Any Input appreciated!
Thanks
Matt

ozfunghi

Re: Slim Phatty and Korg SQ1 via CV different tuning

Post by ozfunghi » Thu Mar 26, 2015 10:18 am

If it's over CV, could it be a problem of compatibility? What hapens when you hook up the Korg to another synth (if you have one)?

Stuka

Post by Stuka » Thu Mar 26, 2015 2:00 pm

Couple of things to try -

1. Make sure the Slim is warmed up before playing. Since it's a true analog synth, it can take a good 15 to 30 minutes for everything to really stabilize.

2. Run ALL the calibration routines as listed in the Slim manual. If the cal routines have never been run before, it can make a huge difference in tuning!
Little Phatty Solar CV, Minitaur, Slim Phatty (x2), MF-101, MF-102, MF-103, MF-104M, MF-105M, MF-108M, CP-251 (x2), Animoog app, Filtatron app, Model D app, Model 15 app...and some 5U modular and Doepfer stuff...

funkateer01

Post by funkateer01 » Fri Mar 27, 2015 3:27 pm

Hi guys!
Thanks for the quick answers.
Unfortunately I don't have another synth with CV Pitch Inputs.