My Slim Phatty needs a partner.

Everything Phatty.
pedrobigas

My Slim Phatty needs a partner.

Post by pedrobigas » Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:11 am

Hello guys,

I'm a proud owner of SP and I'm having great fun with it. I decided that it's time for me to give it a good friend.

I'm no musician, I just like to experiment with sounds, trigger arppegiating sequences with a background drum track and modulate the synth parameters. I haven't recorded anything, it's just pure momentaneum mind/ear pleasure.

What yould you guys suggest me? It could be effects, another synth, whatever. But it has to widen the possibilities and make beautiful sounds!

Ive thought of Minitaur, CP-251, Moogerfooger Ring Mod, Eventide Space or Timefactor, EHX Memory Man ( in no particular order), but I'm always changing my mind. What's the next essential item for me?

I have no particular needs in terms of sound, my budget is $600 and I need to decide till the end of tomorrow =/!

P.S.: I also have a Electribe EMX-1

CTRLSHFT

Re: My Slim Phatty needs a partner.

Post by CTRLSHFT » Tue May 01, 2012 12:31 am

Hey man, spilling over from GS I see. :)

DSI Tetra might be a good choice if you don't mind stretching that budget a little and editing with the software editor. It's a great companion polysynth and sounds a lot different with it's curtis filters than moog. If you can be patient and wait til the end of the month, Arturia's Minibrute will be out soon and is a steal as well as within your budget.
www.ctrlshft.com

pedrobigas

Post by pedrobigas » Tue May 01, 2012 2:08 am

I'm a total newbie, it's always good to have a second opinion; and the folks at GS haven't exactly got the feeling of what I'm looking for. Or perhaps my english is a little raw to make it clear :roll:

DSI Tetra seems to be a great synth, but the harass of tweaking it in real time is a big turn down for me. I need knobs.