Slim Phatty Problem - Midi

Everything Phatty.
rager8

Slim Phatty Problem - Midi

Post by rager8 » Thu Mar 03, 2011 11:44 pm

Hey all,

I just got this slim phatty a couple days ago and you can imagine my reaction when it just started having issues a few hours ago.

The module will not play notes from the keyboard:

- I double checked the midi cable is transmitting
- The midi channel is 1
- I checked the audio cable is setup properly
-I tried 2 different keyboards to send midi notes
- The "play note with enter " function works
- I did a master reboot
- I did a factory reset
- I did a master reboot

I'm not sure what could be going on, I'm at a lost.

Sir Nose

Re: Slim Phatty Problem - Midi

Post by Sir Nose » Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:47 am

Did you try the output button below the volume knob?

Amos

Post by Amos » Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:26 pm

did you actually turn the power off and back on? If there's a problem with communication between the MIDI board and main board (each of which uses its own microprocessor) a power cycle may be needed in order to get them back in sync.

Out of curiosity, when it "just started" having issues, was it more like it was working fine via MIDI and right in the middle of using it, it stopped working? Or more like, it worked fine one day, and when you went to switch it on and use it the next day it started out not working?

If you want to take this offline you can always email me. In any case, I'm here and happy to help.

Cheers,

Amos
(at moogmusic dot com)

rager8

Post by rager8 » Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:33 pm

Thank you all for the prompt response. My heart dropped when my Slim stopped responding. However, I did another set of reboots/restores this time without the midi connection in the input channel, proceeded to power cycle the Slim and all was well afterwards. Huge sigh of relief!

So in case anyone should run into this, be sure to remove the midi cables from the channels when power cycling!

Thanks All!!

rager8