MP-201 vs CV output mod?

Everything Phatty.
bloodsample

MP-201 vs CV output mod?

Post by bloodsample » Sun Oct 17, 2010 10:41 am

Good morning,

I'm fairly new to analog synths and CV so bare with me here.

The LP's output mod gives you the following 5 CV outputs:
- Gate (O to +5V)
- Pitch (1 volt per octave)
- Volume Envelope (0 to 5 Volts)
- Filter Envelope (O to 5 Volts)
- Mod Bus (Variable)

For the sake of this post let's ignore the Mod Bus and say it only has the first 4 CV outs.

The MP-201 has MIDI input and has 4 CV outputs (which I'm guessing are assignable).

So my question is can the MP-201 be used as kind of a CV output expansion to the LP in a way?

The LP sends the gate,pitch,volume and filter envelope via MIDI to the MP-201 and the MP-201 in turn sends this data to its CV outputs (assuming you can freely configure the internal routing of the MP-201).

Again, I'm new to this so it's very possible that I may be completely misunderstanding all this.

Cheers!

Sir Nose

Re: MP-201 vs CV output mod?

Post by Sir Nose » Sun Oct 17, 2010 10:56 am

yes. The LP sends 14 bit midi on the filter cutoff and mod wheel. So, the control should be very smooth on those two controls. Pitch with a note should not be a problem. I am not sure how glide and pitch bend will react from a midi to CV conversion. I am not sure if pitch is 14 bit or 7 bit. I am not totally sure how the MP-201 handles CV gates, but I think you're okay there. Some people would not like this route because of possible conversion lag or artifacts. I have not heard of any actual issues though.

anoteoftruth

Post by anoteoftruth » Fri Oct 29, 2010 5:48 pm

I would be really curious about this as well... since I am interested in the CV output mod, but less interested in sending my LP over the CAD/US border.....

Still no word back about wether or not Long and Mcquade in toronto would be able to do the mod yet like Amos was on the fence about before....