midify theremin Etherwave Plus or Ash in midi

Share your theremin experience: tips, tricks, techniques, favorite theremin moments.
Post Reply
Baudry
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 4:30 pm

midify theremin Etherwave Plus or Ash in midi

Post by Baudry » Fri Mar 12, 2010 5:22 pm

Dear all,


I research midi theremin in the past I think Moog produced Etherwave Plus or Ash midi. Actually the model is not disponible but i would like a theremin similar at Etherwave Plus or Ash with midi system. Have you any documentation or advice to midify this theremin? I'm MaxMsp user and I would like to play midi theremin with maxmsp.With power supply : 220V for europe.


I see the old model who appears on http://www.moogmusic.com/theremin/?sect ... duct_id=11 but it's to big for me.

Baudry
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 4:30 pm

midify theremin Etherwave Plus or Ash in midi

Post by Baudry » Fri Mar 12, 2010 5:58 pm

I see this : http://www.moogmusic.com/manuals/e_plus ... de_man.pdf

But the connection has behind of theremin is it midi? in out or thru ?

User avatar
_DemonDan_
Posts: 1244
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 4:52 pm

Re: midify theremin Etherwave Plus or Ash in midi

Post by _DemonDan_ » Fri Mar 12, 2010 6:50 pm

Baudry wrote:I would like a theremin similar to an Etherwave Plus with MIDI.
Hi Baudry,

While this won't do everything you want, it does a lot of it.

It's only $99 and simply connects to your Audio Out.

And it's battery powered.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bWaNlcXuGmI

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/G2M/
_ :twisted: _DemonDan_ :twisted: _

Baudry
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 4:30 pm

midify theremin Etherwave Plus or Ash in midi

Post by Baudry » Sat Mar 13, 2010 1:13 am

I see theremin on Thomann Website, http://www.thomann.de/fr/prod_bdb_AR_208911.html?image=4 but on this picture I don't know what is it ? Is it midi input midi out or midi thru output?

User avatar
_DemonDan_
Posts: 1244
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 4:52 pm

Re: midify theremin Etherwave Plus or Ash in midi

Post by _DemonDan_ » Sat Mar 13, 2010 11:09 pm

Baudry wrote:Is it a MIDI In, MIDI Out, or MIDI Thru?

Hi Baudry,

The answer is D) None of the above.

It is the power supply connection.
_ :twisted: _DemonDan_ :twisted: _

User avatar
Klopfgeist
Posts: 314
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 11:50 pm
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Contact:

Post by Klopfgeist » Sun Mar 14, 2010 2:36 am

I second what Dan says: get the Sonnus G2M. Specifically from the fine folks at Sweetwater. :D
So this thing only plays one note?

http://soundcloud.com/unarius
http://www.youtube.com/user/plague1715

SteveD
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 9:48 am
Contact:

Re: midify theremin Etherwave Plus or Ash in midi

Post by SteveD » Wed Mar 31, 2010 10:50 am

Hi -

If you use Max/MSP - you can use MSP to generate MIDI directly from the Audio signal. There are both amplitude and frequency measurement tools available in MSP... I wouldn't be surprised if someone in their user community hadn't already made a patch that does this.

SD

User avatar
bichuelo
Posts: 788
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: Bogotá, Colombia
Contact:

Re: midify theremin Etherwave Plus or Ash in midi

Post by bichuelo » Tue May 18, 2010 12:16 am

From the reviews I've read, the Sonuus device has quite a lot of latency, making it useless for any serious player.

I would second SteveD, this might have already been built on Max/MSP. Other pieces of software might as well do this, like Reaktor, pd and Bidule.

cheers,
http://audiotecna.info
T-III, Voyager, VX-351, Slim Phatty, Model D, Sub Phatty, Subsequent 37, Minitaur, all moogerfoogers and minifoogers, EW+, Theremini, Model 15, Filtatron, Animoog, Model D App, iOS 11 Mother-32, DFAM, Werkstatt, Win7, High Sierra

Theremint
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 11:17 pm

Re: midify theremin Etherwave Plus or Ash in midi

Post by Theremint » Tue May 18, 2010 11:18 pm

I used the Sonuus device with my Etherwave Pro. You really have to tinker with the settings on the Theremin to hit the right sweet spot and once there, you can play with little or no latency. However I wouldn't trust it for live performances unless you really have your settings nailed down on a note pad or engrained to memory.

User avatar
_DemonDan_
Posts: 1244
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 4:52 pm

Re: midify theremin Etherwave Plus or Ash in midi

Post by _DemonDan_ » Thu May 20, 2010 1:14 pm

bichuelo wrote:From the reviews I've read, the Sonuus device has quite a lot of latency,
making it useless for any serious player.


Hi bichuelo,

Since I actually own a Sonuus GM2 I can say that the latency is respectable.

Here's a good test. Watch this video of me playing a synth via the G2M:

The synth amp's speaker and my guitar are roughly the same distance from the
video camera's mic. If you listen closely you can hear both the synth and the
acoustic sound of the pick on the guitar's strings:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bWaNlcXuGmI

But far more importantly, in the case of a Theremin, who is this "serious player"
who can play 32nd notes or 64th notes on their Etherwave so consistently that
they'd notice a single digit of milliseconds? I'd really like to meet that person.
(But maybe not shake their hand as they might vibrasonically disintegrate mine.)
_ :twisted: _DemonDan_ :twisted: _

saraohyland
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 3:05 am

Re: midify theremin Etherwave Plus or Ash in midi

Post by saraohyland » Sun Nov 05, 2017 3:06 am

Dear all,


I research midi theremin in the past I think Moog produced Etherwave Plus or Ash midi. Actually the model is not disponible but i would like a theremin similar at Etherwave Plus or Ash with midi system. Have you any documentation or advice to midify this theremin? I'm MaxMsp user and I would like to play midi theremin with maxmsp.With power supply : 220V for europe.

Post Reply