Etherwave Plus: mic stand interference and tuning tips

Share your theremin experience: tips, tricks, techniques, favorite theremin moments.
Spider76

Etherwave Plus: mic stand interference and tuning tips

Post by Spider76 » Wed Aug 11, 2021 7:56 am

Hi everybody, I'm new to the forum and to the world of theremins: it always was a dream of mine and I finally realized it by getting one of the last Etherwaves I could find in EU (they're apparently discontinued now).

Of course I'm a total newbie but I've studied hard lots of manuals and tutorials before deciding the purchase. I know theremins are VERY sensitive to the surroundings, but what I didn't expect was the mic stand itself to completely mess the tuning.
In detail: when I set up the Etherwave on a wooden table, or even a metal X-stand (much bigger and heavier than the mic stand), everything works as expected: the volume knob actually regulates volume (turning it clockwise increases it, typical use setting around 1-2 o'clock), and the pitch knob fine-tunes pitch sensitivity (zero beat and more or less linear scaling when the knob is around 3 o'clock).

When I mount the theremin on a mic stand (straight single-pole type, with heavy round metal base), the behaviour is totally different. Pitch sensitivity is totally different, meaning not only that I have to turn back the tuning knob at around 12 o'clock, but also that scaling is different and pitch rises sharply when I stand back 1-2 meters from the instrument.
Also, the volume behaviour changes completely: adjusting the volume knob has basically no effect (it actually decreases a bit at maximum settings), I have to set it at minimum value, and instead of a smooth transistion, I hear a small "glitch" just before volume drops to silence.