Calibration isn't working

Share your theremin experience: tips, tricks, techniques, favorite theremin moments.
Post Reply
CoralineAda
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 9:05 pm

Calibration isn't working

Post by CoralineAda » Sat Jan 06, 2018 9:12 pm

My theremini worked fine on Christmas day when I opened it, but now it's completely whacked. It makes a sound even when I'm not near the antenna, even though I set it to auto-mute. It goes from C2 to G5 over the space of a couple of inches. I've done calibration and factory reset and nothing seems to be helping. I've tried plugging it into several different outlets in case it was a grounding problem.

Am I missing something, or is the unit bad?

User avatar
microwerx
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 9:59 am

Re: Calibration isn't working

Post by microwerx » Sun Jan 07, 2018 8:03 pm

So I'm new to this, but apparently theremins have a zero spot. So as you go from close to the antenna to the zero spot, the pitch goes from high to low. And if you keep going farther away from the antenna, it can start the sound again. For this reason, lots of people put their connection cable over the volume rod so that the volume is always muted.
- my synths: moog voyager xl, moog sub 37, moog theremini, roland fa-08, and roland se-02

gingercat
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 10:13 pm

Re: Calibration isn't working

Post by gingercat » Wed Nov 07, 2018 12:54 am

not sure if that happen with the Theremini tho. I have never been able to get a sound past zero beat

Mine started making sounds all the time - turned out it was a power supply for my PC somehow affecting the fields - As sson as I powered that off problem solved

Janet792
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 12:28 am

Re: Calibration isn't working

Post by Janet792 » Sat Feb 09, 2019 2:30 am

Any solution on this> I'm having the same issue. I tried to calibration thing and this is what happened...

Post Reply