I may have screwed up....bought Moog 104z

Plug in here for info tips and strategies for your Moogerfooger Analog Effects. Connect more than one for plenty of fun!
BobbyD-NYC

I may have screwed up....bought Moog 104z

Post by BobbyD-NYC » Mon Jan 25, 2016 9:56 pm

I am a guitarist of 39 years and recently had the good fortune to pick up my first piece of analog gear for my home studio which is all digital using Ableton as my DAW. The gear I purchased was the Moog Sub 37 which I am love with.

I wanted an analog delay to go along with sub 37 and bought a MINT condition 104z for $450, not realizing the 104m has the MIDI and controller capability. Is this something that should bother me knowing it's only going to be used for the home studio. I know there are CV inputs on the 104z, but I read that the 104M has an additional type of CV input. I am a bit confused besides the MIDI and tap function, what the other functionality was. Should I sell this unit and buy the 104M or will this suffice for being used with the Sub 37.

What I would ultimately like to do is have multiple MoogerFooger pedals all synched up together with the Sub-37. If that is the case, this pedal wouldn't work.

My other question is what other MoogerFooger pedals play nice with a Moog Synth?

Thanks

stiiiiiiive

Re: I may have screwed up....bought Moog 104z

Post by stiiiiiiive » Tue Jan 26, 2016 6:21 pm

Hi BobbyD, and welcome :)

The 104Z is a great delay by itself. Why you'd want the 104M?
Well, tap tempo for a start (I always use it live), MIDI (never used it), inegrated modulation of the delay time (you can do it with extra gear and the 104Z if you really want it).
A couple of other, less obvious, reasons: the sound -the 104M is a bit smoother, and the fact that when you use the insert function (i.e. inserting another pedal in the feedback loop), the 104Z has its first echo dry and the following are processed-weird.