how to gate the Freq Box?

Plug in here for info tips and strategies for your Moogerfooger Analog Effects. Connect more than one for plenty of fun!
Post Reply
Nightrider
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 5:49 pm

how to gate the Freq Box?

Post by Nightrider » Sun May 27, 2012 5:54 pm

hey Guys

I'm got a little Max/MSP patch going on and am successfully running calibrated pitches to the FREQ BOX's 'freq' in and am able to sequence it note perfect.

But when I stop the sequencing though the OSC continues to output the last played note rather than stopping/gating.

How are people GATING the Freq Box??

EMwhite
Posts: 1651
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 12:22 pm
Location: Middlesex

Re: how to gate the Freq Box?

Post by EMwhite » Mon May 28, 2012 12:42 pm

You can't. (unfortunately)

You need some way to either filter to zero or (ideally) attenuate volume to zero.

Example (using Moog gear), have your sequencer send midi notes out to a Moog Multipedal which generates an ADSR with each note, take the CV out from the MP-201 into the Cutoff on a MF-101 Filter. Depending on the harmonics and range of the OSC, you'll be able to get it mostly off after sequence stops.

Example (using any synth with an audio input): send the output of Freqbox (attenuated) into your synth, and likewise, have a gate for each note into your Gate input of your synth; then leverage the Filter and VCA envelopes. I say 'attenuated' because the output of the FreqBox is surprisingly hot; so much so that undriven signal into a Moogerfooger will typically light the 'LEVEL' lamp solid red.

One other example would be to use a MuRF, which has a built in envelope and VCA function between steps.

And finally, get your hands on a some modules from Synth.com and a home built power supply. Some of the stuff is surprisingly affordable, especially if you buy used via Muffwiggler; People are dropping modules all the time in their quest for the ultimate supreme Modular and you can get an ENV generator for $70 and a VCA for similar coin.

If you have other gear or have a desire to get your hands on a desktop synth such as a Minitaur, an SEM or the like, you can do as I mentioned in the 2nd example and get a great sound source out of it as well.
'76 Minimoog, Taurus 3, Oberheim FVS + Son of 2-voice; Sequential ProOne; Juno 106; Moog Model 15; Kurzweil 250; Hammond M3; and a handful of Fender Basses Flickr!

Pantherairsoft
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:39 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Re: how to gate the Freq Box?

Post by Pantherairsoft » Mon May 28, 2012 1:51 pm

You could adjust the VCO gate threshold on the inside though it seems quite a minor/subtle adjustment. It may offer enough of a change to fulfil your needs though (trim pot in the centre of the board).
Shep on Bass - My website & blog
Bitnormal Records - Netlabel specialising in electronica
KADE - Improvised live electronica
Patient Zero - International hip-hop & electronica collaboration

EMwhite
Posts: 1651
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 12:22 pm
Location: Middlesex

Re: how to gate the Freq Box?

Post by EMwhite » Mon May 28, 2012 2:14 pm

I'm not positive but I think that threshold pot adjusts the envelope generated via amplitude tracking function of the envelope follower. When using the pedal as an oscillator (via FREQ input), it does as any OSC 'module' will; and that's to generate frequency continuously. Best to check with Moog support to verify this before tweaking any internal settings.
'76 Minimoog, Taurus 3, Oberheim FVS + Son of 2-voice; Sequential ProOne; Juno 106; Moog Model 15; Kurzweil 250; Hammond M3; and a handful of Fender Basses Flickr!

Pantherairsoft
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:39 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Re: how to gate the Freq Box?

Post by Pantherairsoft » Tue May 29, 2012 5:40 pm

I recently had some tech advice from SteveD who informed me that the centre trim controls the gate threshold to silence the VCO and while it comes set as a factory default - each unit is slightly different. The other trimpot (in the corner) adjusts the gain of the pitch CV input so you can tune it to 1v/Octave...

Of course I'm not saying you should go twiddling them - but know the gate can be adjusted (and needed to be on mine).
Shep on Bass - My website & blog
Bitnormal Records - Netlabel specialising in electronica
KADE - Improvised live electronica
Patient Zero - International hip-hop & electronica collaboration

ebo
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 8:41 pm

Re: how to gate the Freq Box?

Post by ebo » Thu May 31, 2012 3:58 am

I use the Buchla 292e Low pass gate
http://youtu.be/md4UisqHgbo

Post Reply