Bass Guitar > MF-107 Freqbox > Little Phatty?

Plug in here for info tips and strategies for your Moogerfooger Analog Effects. Connect more than one for plenty of fun!
David Smyth

Bass Guitar > MF-107 Freqbox > Little Phatty?

Post by David Smyth » Sun Oct 30, 2011 11:05 pm

Hey there,
I'm primarily a bassist and do not own a MF-107 Freqbox yet, but I do own a Little Phatty Stage II (with CV Output Mod), Slim Phatty, CP-251 and EP-2 for synth bass purposes.
I'm interested in the MF-107 Freqbox for use with both my bass guitar (synth fuzz pedal) and my Moog synths (for modular use).
I was wondering if it's possible to play bass guitar into the Freqbox with hard sync on, and with the Freqbox's osc. out (I assume this is pitch) patched into the pitch CV input of my Little Phatty to achieve a massive sounding 3 osc. moog synth from my bass. The problem is, I see no gate out of the Freqbox to trigger the Little Phatty's notes..

Is there a way to make this work? Maybe one of the other Freqbox outputs can work as a gate out?

Thanks,

David Smyth
New Zealand
Minimoog Voyager XL, Little Phatty Stage II + CV Output Mod, 2x Slim Phatty, Minitaur, MP-201, EP-2, 2x CP-251, MF-102, MF-104M, MF-107

EricK

Re: Bass Guitar > MF-107 Freqbox > Little Phatty?

Post by EricK » Mon Oct 31, 2011 12:43 am

If it were only that easy lol.

No, it doesn't work like that. I think the best it will do to a synth's pitch input is dirty the sound a bit, similar to what you get if you use white noise.

You need a pitch to cv converter and then something like a q118 instrument interface (synthesizers.com) to generate a gate signal, but it seems to me that something similar with MIDI would be much more practical.
Support the Bob Moog Foundation:
https://moogfoundation.org/do-something-2/donate/

I think I hear the mothership coming.

David Smyth

Post by David Smyth » Mon Oct 31, 2011 3:00 am