Ready to buy: waiting for new firmware?

Polyphonic Analog Synthesizer
RedtideMusic

Ready to buy: waiting for new firmware?

Post by RedtideMusic » Tue Apr 19, 2022 7:49 am

I've been looking at this synth for a year or two and am thinking maybe this year, however with research I'm finding out about the firmware issues. I'm a software engineer by trade (and ironically develop embedded device firmware on a system not unlike the One) so have zero tolerance for bugs.

So I'm trying to understand what bugs are outstanding, what I've seen is
  • * Stuck notes
    * CV (not sure the issue here)
    * MIDI out (is MIDI in equally buggy?)
    * Oscillator compensation variable note issue (e.g. Tim Shoebridge YT video)
What others am I missing?

I think my criteria for purchasing would be if they fix the stuck note issue - that would drive me up the wall. I think I can live with the others. Otherwise, what's the confidence these days a new firmware will come? The lack of updates makes me think they're interest isn't high, something I've noticed from Moog is that when a product isn't a hot seller they don't keep it around long, so that's a concern.

MWK

Re: Ready to buy: waiting for new firmware?

Post by MWK » Thu Apr 21, 2022 9:20 am

I really hope they're working on polishing the firmware because I always encounter them when playing. And there's nothing like bugs to get you out of a flow of music. Some sessions, I'll be working on a preset and all of sudden as I'm trying to modulate it, I'll notice that a parameter isn't acting the way it should, and then bam, I start digging into it. Before I know it, I've spent a couple hours isolating this bug.