Moog One FEATURE Requests

Polyphonic Analog Synthesizer
PhilAiken
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 9:26 am

Re: Moog One FEATURE Requests

Post by PhilAiken » Fri Jul 05, 2019 10:35 am

On the main page when you call up a patch, the 4 knobs under the display are inactive.
It would be amazing if they were assignable mod sources, available to all 3 synths. The possibilities are endless. Bring one synth up while lowering another.Bring in an LFO and sweep a filter on one synth, while adding resonance to another - all with one knob turn.

mildwest
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 10:46 pm

Re: Moog One FEATURE Requests

Post by mildwest » Fri Jul 05, 2019 11:55 am

PhilAiken wrote:On the main page when you call up a patch, the 4 knobs under the display are inactive.
It would be amazing if they were assignable mod sources, available to all 3 synths. The possibilities are endless. Bring one synth up while lowering another.Bring in an LFO and sweep a filter on one synth, while adding resonance to another - all with one knob turn.

I like this. Nord has a similar function on their synths.

meister_philipp
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 9:35 am

Re: Moog One FEATURE Requests

Post by meister_philipp » Thu Jul 18, 2019 9:43 am

Hi there,

would be great to have control over fx parameters in the mod matrix. I use this a lot on the deepmind, creates great effects if you can control e.g. reverb time with an lfo (I was acutally surprised, that this is not possible yet on the ONE).

At least having the two Synth FX parameter knobs in the mod matrix would be cool.

Philipp

Bobbyjoebob
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 12:56 pm

Re: Moog One FEATURE Requests

Post by Bobbyjoebob » Sun Aug 04, 2019 1:55 pm

Would love to have MIDI CC control over the additional parameters within the MORE menu’s.

Then you could have more direct physical control over deeper parameters you may want to modulate by hand (ie SVF spacing or envelope delay or hold).

artofmoog
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2019 4:56 am

Re: Moog One FEATURE Requests

Post by artofmoog » Wed Aug 14, 2019 5:21 am

Here's a humble feature request: an option to have RELATIVE PITCHES IN THE SEQUENCER, so the sequencer almost crosses over into programmable arpeggiator territory.

Let's say you record a sequence with just two pitches, a major third apart. Currently it's stored with absolute pitch info that is transposed during playback, but the interval between them is absolutely fixed. That is good sometimes, but less good for diatonic transpositions where you'd really want the major 3rd to become a minor 3rd.

I dream of a sequencer mode that just looks at the total number of different pitches used in the recorded pattern, and interprets them as being relatively, arbitrarily higher or lower than one another, rather than fixed to specific notes or intervals. Then on sequencer playback you'd play the notes you wanted to hear, and the sequencer would trigger them according to that arbitrary, non-absolute higher/lower pattern. If you played fewer notes than there were degrees of pitch, the sequencer would 'wrap' them round, repeating some of the lower ones.

I remember this feature from a Casio keyboard of the early 80s which was terrible in every other way, and have never seen it on any synth since. But it's musically really useful, and it struck me as something that could fit into the Moog One 'advanced' ethos very nicely.

bruno_z
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2019 5:18 am

Re: Moog One FEATURE Requests

Post by bruno_z » Thu Aug 15, 2019 10:58 am

I don't know if it has been mentioned, but as I am getting increasingly frustrated with the voice allocation logic (despite the 16v), I would really like a bit more control on it, in particular for patches with long releases.
For instance, there is a lot of long release stealing that could be much more graceful if the priority was to cut the same note if it is already playing, instead of cutting another one and having the same note overlapping with its own release. I can understand why it can be good sometimes, but in my experience most of the time I would not mind reusing the same voice when retriggering the same note, instead of cutting the long release of another note.
That could potentially be implemented as another option like "prioritise same note stealing" in Polyphony / More, on top of the highest / lowest / oldest / most recent.
You can even finesse that further by stealing the notes with the closest harmonic content ("prioritise similar note stealing"), like octaves or fifths. That's only realistically doable if the patch is roughly harmonic of course.
The One is all about control, so having that would be I think a great addition, especially for 8v versions I imagine.

User avatar
till
Posts: 1091
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 6:17 pm
Location: south-west Germany
Contact:

Re: Moog One FEATURE Requests

Post by till » Thu Aug 15, 2019 2:45 pm

bruno_z wrote:...
For instance, there is a lot of long release stealing that could be much more graceful if the priority was to cut the same note if it is already playing, instead of cutting another one and having the same note overlapping with its own release. I can understand why it can be good sometimes, but in my experience most of the time I would not mind reusing the same voice when retriggering the same note, instead of cutting the long release of another note.
...

I second you 100%!
"Stealing" the note you just play again is something we all know from acoustic instruments like church organs and pianos. But also on all e-pianos.
keep on turning these Moog knobs

Sequence:
Prodigy * Minimoog (1979) * Voyager * MF102 * MF103 * MF104z * MP201 * Taurus 3 * Minitaur * Sub Phatty * MF105 * Minimoog reissues with MUSEs * One

User avatar
SanhajiMusic
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 8:18 pm

Re: Moog One FEATURE Requests

Post by SanhajiMusic » Sun Aug 25, 2019 1:12 pm

SEQUENCER

The possibility:
to set a starting point somewhere in a sequence
define a loop somewhere in a sequence
to move individual notes
Move all notes
to copy the Arpeggiator to the sequencer

OSC

The possibility:
To copy and paste the OSC Settings to another OSC

PRESETS

The possibility:
To save Timbres in a list and not only in a Preset.
To load timbres from a list to a synth
To copy synth 1 to Synth 2 and so on.

User avatar
till
Posts: 1091
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 6:17 pm
Location: south-west Germany
Contact:

Re: Moog One FEATURE Requests

Post by till » Mon Aug 26, 2019 3:52 am

SanhajiMusic wrote:...PRESETS

The possibility:
To save Timbres in a list and not only in a Preset.
To load timbres from a list to a synth
To copy synth 1 to Synth 2 and so on.

You can load any timbre of a preset into any of the three synths of the active preset right now (page 119, last paragraph). So I don't see why this would improve the Moog One.
keep on turning these Moog knobs

Sequence:
Prodigy * Minimoog (1979) * Voyager * MF102 * MF103 * MF104z * MP201 * Taurus 3 * Minitaur * Sub Phatty * MF105 * Minimoog reissues with MUSEs * One

User avatar
SanhajiMusic
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 8:18 pm

Re: Moog One FEATURE Requests

Post by SanhajiMusic » Mon Aug 26, 2019 10:15 pm

till wrote:
SanhajiMusic wrote:...PRESETS

The possibility:
To save Timbres in a list and not only in a Preset.
To load timbres from a list to a synth
To copy synth 1 to Synth 2 and so on.

You can load any timbre of a preset into any of the three synths of the active preset right now (page 119, last paragraph). So I don't see why this would improve the Moog One.



Hey
a preset always contains the information of all 3 synths and i do not want to search for timbres in the presets.
For me timbres are the actual presets of the synth.
Presets are the state of the whole Moog one.

for example:
if i want to have a bassdrum to play in synth 1 and in synth 2 a noise and in synth 3 a bass sound then i could look for this timbres in a list that i put together by myself. That would be much better than looking around in the presets.

Bobbyjoebob
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 12:56 pm

Re: Moog One FEATURE Requests

Post by Bobbyjoebob » Thu Aug 29, 2019 12:50 pm

Here’s a request:

If you have “HOLD” enabled and trigger a note on the keyboard, would be great if the keyboard continued to send out the MIDI note once you released the keys.

Right now midi note only sends while the keys are pressed, and a note off message appears to be sent when keys are released, even with HOLD enabled.

Post Reply