Subsequent 25 same sound as minitaur?

Everything Sub.
Jaycee_NL

Subsequent 25 same sound as minitaur?

Post by Jaycee_NL » Tue Feb 08, 2022 2:17 am

Hello, I need a new synth for warm & raw bass sounds. I do know that the Minitaur can produce the sounds that I need. Also I do know the Subsequent 37 cannot produce the bass sounds that I need. (At least: I cannot :D )

Main question is: can the Subsequent 25 produce the same bass sounds as the minitaur?
Because some more features such as a keyboard would be nice.
Thnx!

stiiiiiiive

Re: Subsequent 25 same sound as minitaur?

Post by stiiiiiiive » Tue Feb 08, 2022 5:29 am

Hi Jaycee_NL, welcome to the forum!

Here is what I can say, which is not a straight yes-no answer but just my experience.

I have never tried a Minitaur/Taurus but know the sound. I've tried a Sub37 once and was disappointed. I've been using used a Little Phatty for 11 years now, and have used SubPhatty on a regular basis for some years too. I've tried a Subsequent 25 too.

What I know:
- The Sub25 sounds just as a SubPhatty, let's say 95%
- On the SubPhatty and the Sub25 (and maybe others Moogs), remember that mixing the oscillators below noon will allow not to squash the sound and stay in something more "vintagey".
- The Little Phatty is way more rock'n'roll than the Subs, especially thans to its Overload.
- From what I've read many times, the Little/Slim Phatty will satisfy 95% (again :D ) of the bass addicts, including some Minitaur users.

Now... whether another given Moog synh will satisfy you as a bass addict is really difficult to say. It comes down to you *precise* expectations and how you program your patches.

I suggest (second cliché alert...) that you try before pulling the trigger. Use your own headphones.
I'm curious to know your path in this quest :)

Jaycee_NL

Post by Jaycee_NL » Wed Feb 09, 2022 10:31 am

Thanks for your reply.