Re subsequent 37 digital hash

Everything Sub.
Post Reply
Nudjinn
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:23 pm

Re subsequent 37 digital hash

Post by Nudjinn » Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:32 pm

I tried to contact moog directly sending 3 emails asking for help with digital hash interference problems and have been completely ignored finally discovered that i had to power the sub 37 directly from mains
Eg. No power bars
Some help would have been appreciated Thought id leave this post incase others are suffering from this problem
-1 for moog support

User avatar
Rufus the Dog
Posts: 154
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 8:38 am

Re: Re subsequent 37 digital hash

Post by Rufus the Dog » Wed Jul 25, 2018 1:38 am

Hi

Did you have anything else plugged in to your power bar?


R.

Nudjinn
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:23 pm

Re: Re subsequent 37 digital hash

Post by Nudjinn » Wed Jul 25, 2018 3:04 am

Yes sorry i didnt make that clear

User avatar
Rufus the Dog
Posts: 154
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 8:38 am

Re: Re subsequent 37 digital hash

Post by Rufus the Dog » Wed Jul 25, 2018 4:50 am

Ok, probably a suggestion you have already thought of but remove the other connections one by one to see if the 'digital hash' disappears.

If you find a particular culprit give that connection its own mains connection and see if the Sub now sounds okay with all the others on the power bar.


R.

Nudjinn
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:23 pm

Re: Re subsequent 37 digital hash

Post by Nudjinn » Wed Jul 25, 2018 6:17 am

Good advice for others suffering this issue but for me the moog was the only instrument i have exhibiting this problem (ground loop) all my others are fine so with the moog isolated im currently enjoying a near silent noise floor

Thanks tho

User avatar
bichuelo
Posts: 852
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: Bogotá, Colombia
Contact:

Re: Re subsequent 37 digital hash

Post by bichuelo » Wed Jul 25, 2018 11:02 am

Maybe it's the same problem that happens with the OP-1 and it is related to the fact that these are not balanced signals

I have had this problem with the Sub Phatty and the Minitaur as well, there is a workaround for the latter here: viewtopic.php?f=11&t=15694&hilit=tape+ground

You are able to do this with the other Moog synthesizers. With the OP-1, Teenage Engineering told me I should do this, so I use it with a direct box and it sounds completely clean
http://audiotecna.info
T-III, Voyager, VX-351, Slim Phatty, Model D, Sub Phatty, Subsequent 37, Minitaur, all moogerfoogers and minifoogers, EW+, Theremini, Model 15, Filtatron, Animoog, Model D App, iOS 11 Mother-32, DFAM, Werkstatt, Win7, High Sierra

Post Reply