Page 1 of 1

Midi clock start

Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 12:52 pm
by voltage control
I am using Studio One to send midi clock start to the sub sequencer.
Hitting start in Studio One will not start the sub sequencer unless i press a key on the keyboard.
Is this normal? Shouldnt the sub37 sequncer start when pressing play in studio one?

Re: Midi clock start

Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:03 pm
by paramnesia
i'm not familiar with Studio One, but did you press the SYNC button on your Sub37?

SYNC
When ON this button synchronizes the arpeggiator to external MIDI
clock messages. MIDI clock messages are 24 ppq (pulses-per-quarternote)
messages that can be sent via MIDI computer sequencers, drum
machines, etc... To enable the sending of these messages, consult the user
manual for your external MIDI device. When the arpeggiator is synchronized to a MIDI clock tempo,
the arpeggiator can be set to time divisions of this tempo using the arpeggiator’s RATE knob. (Time
divisions range from 4 whole notes up to a 64th note triplet).

WARNING: When SYNC is ON, and you are not in TAP TEMPO mode, the arp/sequencer will not play
unless MIDI clock is received.


Manual Page 15 https://www.moogmusic.com/sites/default ... v1.1_0.pdf

Re: Midi clock start

Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:40 pm
by voltage control
Yes, i have the sync button activated and my other sequencer (MAQ16) starts just fine.
But the sub37 wont start unless i press a key first..

Re: Midi clock start

Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2017 9:18 am
by LuthierMark
Hi VC,

The Sub 37 will only play anything if you either press a key, or send notes (note-on/off messages) through MIDI. The sequencer may be running (I don't know for sure though) but unless its receiving a note-on or a keyboard gate, it will not generate any sound.

I don't know studio one, but you might want to send the note you wish to use the sequence with from a MIDI track.

Switching on the Arp Latch will keep this note and your sequence playing as long as the Sub 37 receives MIDI clock.

Hope this helps.