Sub37 editor not connecting (Windows only)

Everything Sub.
Post Reply
thomasmooger
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 3:26 am

Sub37 editor not connecting (Windows only)

Post by thomasmooger » Wed Dec 21, 2016 4:32 am

On my Mac the Sub37 editor connected to the hardware every time without a problem.

On PC (Win 10 Anniversary) it doesn't seem to want to connect. I did install the special PC MIDI driver that came with the 1.2 update.

Any thoughts?

Samurai Pizza Cat
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:45 am

Re: Sub37 editor not connecting (Windows only)

Post by Samurai Pizza Cat » Fri Dec 23, 2016 5:41 pm

did the usb-driver install correctly? (check device manager!)

i'm running windows 10 and can't get the driver to work properly...

thomasmooger
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 3:26 am

Re: Sub37 editor not connecting (Windows only)

Post by thomasmooger » Wed Dec 28, 2016 6:27 pm

Yes, it's listed in the device manager.

Seems like the software driver is just broken. Very disappointing.

synthdood
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2016 3:54 pm

Re: Sub37 editor not connecting (Windows only)

Post by synthdood » Fri Dec 30, 2016 9:52 am

The Sub37 is class compliant and uses the generic windows MIDI driver, it does not have it's own driver. It appears that the generic driver is not multi client so you can not use the Sub37 midi port from 2 programs simultaneously. When I have Cubase open it is not possible to run the Sub37 editor at the same time because it can not grab it's midi port. So to be able to use the editor make sure you don't have any other midi software open.

User avatar
Chimponaut
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 3:35 pm

Re: Sub37 editor not connecting (Windows only)

Post by Chimponaut » Fri Dec 30, 2016 6:45 pm

synthdood wrote:The Sub37 is class compliant and uses the generic windows MIDI driver, it does not have it's own driver. It appears that the generic driver is not multi client so you can not use the Sub37 midi port from 2 programs simultaneously. When I have Cubase open it is not possible to run the Sub37 editor at the same time because it can not grab it's midi port. So to be able to use the editor make sure you don't have any other midi software open.



Windows 7 here, I use the USB connection for the Editor and the 5 Pin Connection with Nuendo at the same time. Works Great.
HW: Sub 37 <> Model D (original) <> Minitaur <> Slim Phatty <> OB-6 Module
<> Prophet Rev2 8V <> Prologue 16 <> Integra 7 <> SE-02 <> Triton Le <> Audient ASP-880
<> RME Raydat

SW: Nuendo

User avatar
breun
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 1:36 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Sub37 editor not connecting (Windows only)

Post by breun » Sun Jan 01, 2017 9:49 am

synthdood wrote:The Sub37 is class compliant and uses the generic windows MIDI driver, it does not have it's own driver.


I don't use Windows myself, but I read Moog has created Windows drivers for their synths which do allow port sharing.

motwell
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 8:05 pm
Location: San Luis Obispo County, Central California, USA

Re: Sub37 editor not connecting (Windows only)

Post by motwell » Thu Mar 23, 2017 5:30 am

I'm having the same (or similar) problem: on Windows 10 cannot connect the editor to the synth. I've installed the 1.20 firmware, installed the 3.30 driver, and am trying the standalone (64-bit) editor via USB midi. It says "please connect your sub 37" or some similar message. I've reinstalled the driver, but no luck.

Any hints welcome, this is a mystery to me ...

Thanks!
Sub 37 (firmware 1.2.0), Mother-32 x2, MF-103; Ableton Live Suite 9.7.1 on Windows 10 Pro (64-bit); RME UCX interface.

User avatar
bichuelo
Posts: 803
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: Bogotá, Colombia
Contact:

Re: Sub37 editor not connecting (Windows only)

Post by bichuelo » Thu Mar 23, 2017 11:49 am

motwell wrote:I'm having the same (or similar) problem: on Windows 10 cannot connect the editor to the synth. I've installed the 1.20 firmware, installed the 3.30 driver, and am trying the standalone (64-bit) editor via USB midi. It says "please connect your sub 37" or some similar message. I've reinstalled the driver, but no luck.

Any hints welcome, this is a mystery to me ...

Thanks!


Try selecting again your port under Editor Settings
http://audiotecna.info
T-III, Voyager, VX-351, Slim Phatty, Model D, Sub Phatty, Subsequent 37, Minitaur, all moogerfoogers and minifoogers, EW+, Theremini, Model 15, Filtatron, Animoog, Model D App, iOS 11 Mother-32, DFAM, Werkstatt, Win7, High Sierra

motwell
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 8:05 pm
Location: San Luis Obispo County, Central California, USA

Re: Sub37 editor not connecting (Windows only)

Post by motwell » Fri Mar 24, 2017 2:06 am

Wow, thanks, bichuelo! That seems to have fixed it.

(in the meantime i installed a new wifi adapter for my PC - it wasn't allowing me to connect to the internet, but even after that install the editor wouldn't connect until i reset the port under Editor Settings as you suggested)
Sub 37 (firmware 1.2.0), Mother-32 x2, MF-103; Ableton Live Suite 9.7.1 on Windows 10 Pro (64-bit); RME UCX interface.

drybeats
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 8:08 pm

Re: Sub37 editor not connecting (Windows only)

Post by drybeats » Wed Apr 12, 2017 4:05 pm

Bump. This driver is definitely busted. Windows says it won't install correctly. Anytime I try to install the 3.30 driver for port sharing it fails to receive ANY midi (using a midi monitor software) from the Sub37. Have to uninstall and go to the class compliant software to make it happen... Which leads back to the issue of not being able to use the editor for lack of port sharing. Comeon Moog. Fix this already.

Kidraver
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 10:41 am

Re: Sub37 editor not connecting (Windows only)

Post by Kidraver » Mon May 15, 2017 10:49 am

I had the same message, I clicked continue went to the setup page, the midi in and outs were red indicating the wrong path, I changed to the right path and it all worked out. :D

RobH
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 12:43 pm

Re: Sub37 editor not connecting (Windows only)

Post by RobH » Mon May 15, 2017 2:08 pm

You have to go into the sub37 editor and assign the midi ports then it will work fine.

Post Reply