Sync Sub 37 arpeggiator to logic (Solved!)

Everything Sub.
kalithas

Sync Sub 37 arpeggiator to logic (Solved!)

Post by kalithas » Mon Nov 07, 2016 1:38 pm

I was wondering how I can sync my Sub 37 to the tempo in logic. Specifically the arpeggiator. I am pretty new to music production in general and the sub 37 is my first synth. My current set up is sub37 > scarlett 2i2 > MacBook pro. Do I need midi connections in order for this to work or am I fine with my current set up? Thanks!
Last edited by kalithas on Sun Nov 13, 2016 3:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mattymel

Re: Sync Sub 37 arpeggiator to logic

Post by mattymel » Mon Nov 07, 2016 2:28 pm

Usually best (cleaner) to do this sort of thing via Midi.

kalithas

Post by kalithas » Mon Nov 07, 2016 2:31 pm

mattymel wrote:Usually best (cleaner) to do this sort of thing via Midi.

Okay great. Thats what I figured... So I will return the scarlett 2i2 for 2i4 and try it again. Thanks!

Suspish

Post by Suspish » Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:28 pm

I think you could just plug the usb out of the sub37 into the macbook and pass midi through there. No need to run it through the audio interface.

mrkennethdel

Post by mrkennethdel » Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:40 pm

I use a USB cable for MIDI and it works just fine. Be sure to set up Logic to send clock to at least the SUB37.

kalithas

Post by kalithas » Mon Nov 07, 2016 4:57 pm

Okay thanks for the replies! I will try when I get home.

kalithas

Post by kalithas » Mon Nov 07, 2016 8:59 pm

Okay I connected it but it is connected as a midi keyboard now to play VST instuments... I wanted the actual sound of the moog to sync up to the tempo in logic . Is this possible?

mrkennethdel

Post by mrkennethdel » Tue Nov 08, 2016 10:17 am

kalithas wrote:Okay I connected it but it is connected as a midi keyboard now to play VST instuments... I wanted the actual sound of the moog to sync up to the tempo in logic . Is this possible?