Noob needs help with routing midi...please?

Everything Sub.
misfitit

Noob needs help with routing midi...please?

Post by misfitit » Mon Jul 25, 2016 9:24 am

I'm new to midi gear. I would like to run a (from what I am told) simple setup and I am proving myself to be an idiot. Can you Help?

I have the beatstep (non pro), an Electribe ES-1 MK2 and a Sub Phatty.

I also have a midi thru box.

I'm trying to either run the ES-1 as master or the Beatstep as master. I use the Beatstep as a hidden functions controller for the sub phatty as well as running sequences to the SubP.

Ideally I would like to retain the functions from Beatstep to SubP while either the ES-1 or the Beastep being clock.

anyone have ideas?

edit.......

I removed the thru box from the equation and routed beatstep to midi in on ES-1 then ES-1 thru to SubP. everything works except the hidden control functions of the beatstep to SubP...

I'm imagining that the SubP needs to receive the control commands separately from the sequence commands, through the Elecribe, and that the electribe is interfering somehow.

there's got to be a genius that can educate me on this. I appreciate any help I can get

Tsaddeous

Re: Noob needs help with routing midi...please?

Post by Tsaddeous » Mon Jul 25, 2016 2:47 pm

Hi,

What about the midi filter on your ES-1 ?

Everything is open ?

CRJ

Post by CRJ » Mon Jul 25, 2016 4:19 pm

misfitit wrote:I'm new to midi gear. I would like to run a (from what I am told) simple setup and I am proving myself to be an idiot. Can you Help?

I have the beatstep (non pro), an Electribe ES-1 MK2 and a Sub Phatty.

I also have a midi thru box.

I'm trying to either run the ES-1 as master or the Beatstep as master. I use the Beatstep as a hidden functions controller for the sub phatty as well as running sequences to the SubP.

Ideally I would like to retain the functions from Beatstep to SubP while either the ES-1 or the Beastep being clock.

anyone have ideas?

edit.......