Moog Sub 37 VCA Modulation

Everything Sub.
Post Reply
andreasm
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 4:50 am

Moog Sub 37 VCA Modulation

Post by andreasm » Tue May 03, 2016 9:46 am

Hi, I just got my first analog synth, the Sub 37! I am not new to synthesis but with all the soft synths out there I didn't really dig deep into all functions. So I have a question about Modulation of the VCA Level. I want to to a simple VCO Volume Ramp Down - these are my settings:

1. Mod Wheel is up!
2. Mod 1 Destination is VCA Level
3. Mod 1 Source is Saw
4. Mod Amt 1 is +5
5. OSC Volume is 0

Nothing happens....

Whereas when i put the Mod 1 Destination to Noise Level and have the Noise Volume at 0 I hear a Volume Ramp down.
I can achieve a Volume ramp down though with these settings:

1. Mod Wheel is up!
2. Mod 1 Destination is VCA Level
3. Mod 1 Source is Reversed Saw!
4. Mod Amt 1 is -5
5. OSC Volume is 10

What am I missing here? Thanks!
Andreas

ebowen4221
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:48 pm

Re: Moog Sub 37 VCA Modulation

Post by ebowen4221 » Tue May 03, 2016 12:05 pm

So if I'm not mistaken, you want the volume to start at lets say 10, and go to 0, correct?

And double checking that you have the LFO wave to the reverse ramp wave (one click right of the square wave)?

And you want the whole synth to start loud and get quiet without affecting your envelopes for your filter and amplifier?

bernard
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 4:04 am

Re: Moog Sub 37 VCA Modulation

Post by bernard » Tue May 03, 2016 12:18 pm

Hi Andreas,

you're right, the problem is that the "Amp Level" can only modulated with negative values*.

Try this:
Set dest=Amp Lvl
Set source= Ramp UP
Set modulation amount to -5

Also be sure to held a note or press "latch" in the VCA section.

And take a note on this: Osc Level has nothing to do with Amp Lvl. So the oscillator(s) must have a level in the mixer section.

* I think it is not logical and therefore a bug. But I think, this was also mentioned in the beta forum, but never adressed.

Cheers,
Bernard

andreasm
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 4:50 am

Re: Moog Sub 37 VCA Modulation

Post by andreasm » Tue May 03, 2016 12:38 pm

* I think it is not logical and therefore a bug. But I think, this was also mentioned in the beta forum, but never adressed.


Thanks Bernard, that's why I couldn't make sense of it

Post Reply