Sub 37 Editor v1.0.0 & Firmware v1.2.0 is now available

Everything Sub.
User avatar
Rene K
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 4:17 pm

Re: Sub 37 Editor v1.0.0 & Firmware v1.2.0 is now available

Post by Rene K » Thu Apr 28, 2016 6:33 pm

thanks moog for these fantastic and free editor/librarian
i have no problem with my old cubase sx3 win XP music pc and it works well on my win7 video PC.

no other company get this done.
a fantastic vintage vib analog machine, now with opportunities of the modern time.

good job!

gdorworth
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 9:31 pm

Re: Sub 37 Editor v1.0.0 & Firmware v1.2.0 is now available

Post by gdorworth » Thu Apr 28, 2016 7:21 pm

I have the following problems with the new software:

1) Running Win 7 Pro Service Pack 1 firmware install completed phase I and puked on phase II. Now the 37 reports M1.20 P1.10. I am assuming P1.1.0 refers to the patches installed. Please document what your release numbers refer to.

2) Both usb drivers provided do not install. Had to completely remove both via control panel.

3) Editor works with the 37. I was able to save all the patches for version 1.1.0 to one file. Could not figure out how to load all the 1.2 at once from the files provided. I only saw individual patch files on my system.

4) Using the 37 as a midi control to my Access Virus T2 I am getting alot of stuck midi notes. With firmware 1.1 I would get an occasional stuck note during live performances that I could deal with. The 1.2 is causing a number of different midi issues. Volume controls were independent midi vise in 1.1 now they are linked in 1.2

5) I still have the 1.1 firmware install and midiOx procedures to hand install if need be 1.1. Has anyone installed 1.1 over 1.2 with out problems? I think I need to go back to 1.1 for a stable performance environment.

Has any one else regressed back to 1.1?
Korg KronosX-88, Access Virus T2, Moog Sub 37, Rd-300SX, Eventide H3000 D/SE
i7 920 2.67GHz, ASUS P6T Deluxe, 6GB OCZ DDR3, ATI Radeon 4350, 1TB & 1TB WD Black Caviar, 03 Rack+, PT12.5, Abelton Live 9+, WIN 7 x64

mikeh11
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 6:40 pm

Re: Sub 37 Editor v1.0.0 & Firmware v1.2.0 is now available

Post by mikeh11 » Sat Apr 30, 2016 7:57 pm

Now the 37 reports M1.20 P1.10.
Master Firmware 1.20 - that's good.
Panel Firmware 1.10 - that's the old stuff.

Re-run the firmware installation, or send them "by-hand" again.
MBP 2012 | OS X 10.11.6 | Sub 37 #6768

Mick7
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 10:59 am

Re: Sub 37 Editor v1.0.0 & Firmware v1.2.0 is now available

Post by Mick7 » Sun May 01, 2016 3:46 am

Hello!
When will there be the official download at the Moog Music page?
greeting
Mick

mikeh11
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 6:40 pm

Re: Sub 37 Editor v1.0.0 & Firmware v1.2.0 is now available

Post by mikeh11 » Sun May 01, 2016 1:42 pm

I think they're letting it out to registered owners only for now.
If you're a registered owner you should have gotten an email about it.
MBP 2012 | OS X 10.11.6 | Sub 37 #6768

Istvan
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2015 7:52 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH

Re: Sub 37 Editor v1.0.0 & Firmware v1.2.0 is now available

Post by Istvan » Fri May 13, 2016 5:00 pm

Is there any way to adjust ratcheting per step in the sequencer window of the Editor? I can only seem to have the same ratchet count across the board. Thanks

franklinstower
Posts: 191
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2014 1:10 am

Re: Sub 37 Editor v1.0.0 & Firmware v1.2.0 is now available

Post by franklinstower » Sat May 14, 2016 2:01 am

There was talk about a firmware update that would improve the velocity sensetivity on the sub 37. Is that a part of this update?

mikeh11
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 6:40 pm

Re: Sub 37 Editor v1.0.0 & Firmware v1.2.0 is now available

Post by mikeh11 » Sat May 14, 2016 11:56 am

Is there any way to adjust ratcheting per step in the sequencer window of the Editor?
Maybe, sort-of, kind-of.

There is just one ratchet setting per sequence. But you can modulate that setting. And you can modulate it with the mod values in the sequence itself.

I explained this in my goofy quick-reference document a month ago or so.

This is what it said:
---

3.17. The sequencer gives only even beats; I’m bored with that!

Here’s one cheat: use the Sequencer Mod Values to modulate the Ratchet Count. You can’t get different pitches on each subdivision, but you can get something other than straight, even, beats.

Set the Sequence Mod Destination to Ratchet Count, set the Mod Amount to 100%, and set individual mod values at each step in the sequence. Set the initial Ratchet Multiple to 1, and modulate upwards with mod values from 0 to 127. Or, set it somewhere else and modulate up or down.

The table below shows the mod values for a particular ratchet count, when modulating up from a ratchet count of 1. Negate the numbers to decrease the ratchet multiple. For instance, if the Ratchet Multiple is set to 4, and you wish to modulate it down to 3, then you need to drop down by one notch, so set the Seq Mod value to something from negative 16 to negative 31. (yes?)

Ratchet / Seq Mod Value Range
1 0 - 15
2 16 - 31
3 32 - 47
4 48 - 63
5 64 - 79
6 80 - 95
7 96 - 111
8 112 - 127
===

EDIT: 2016-05-18
It finally dawned on me that I should provide some examples, so here they are:
the bass-line patterns from Ravel's Bolero, and Mars from The Planets by Holst, and a silly ditty.
SeqModRatchet.zip
(1.8 KiB) Downloaded 52 times
PS: remember to set the Ratchet button for the beats you want ratcheted!
Last edited by mikeh11 on Wed May 18, 2016 12:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MBP 2012 | OS X 10.11.6 | Sub 37 #6768

Sofine
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 6:59 am
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Re: Sub 37 Editor v1.0.0 & Firmware v1.2.0 is now available

Post by Sofine » Mon May 16, 2016 6:50 am

PeriodicResonance wrote:I've installed the fw update and the editor but I seem to have problems with the editor talking to my sub 37. I can't seem to 'get' or 'send' patches. It says that the hardware is disconnected. It does seem to find the proper USB midi port though and in 'Setup' the MIDI IN/OUT ports booth say 'Moog Sub 37', and if I change a button on the front panel in the editor it makes the appropriate change on the sub 37. MIDI setting seem fine for backing up and restoring from Sysex Librarian. Send/Recv program changes are ON, MIDI channel is 1/1. I've forced the sub 37 to talk MIDI on usb only.

Any suggestions?
Hi, I am getting a similar issue here. I can make changes to the Sub37 from the editor (and I can also send / receive patches) but the changes I make on the synth are NOT reflected in the editor. Nor is the patch name displayed in the editor. Also, when I go to the librarian I also see the "hardware disconnected" message.

I'm pretty sure I have all connections set up correctly.

I have the latest firmware installed (1.2.0) and I have tried connecting the Sub37 directly to my PC (USB) and also through my midi interface (USB).

Strangely enough, it did work perfectly for me the first time I installed it but, after not being in the studio for a few weeks) I am now encountering theses issues. I can't remember having changed anything in my setup in that period.

Win 7 x 64
Standalone editor
iconnectivity iconnect 4

Any thoughts?

Thanks.

sub guy
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 7:39 pm

Re: Sub 37 Editor v1.0.0 & Firmware v1.2.0 is now available

Post by sub guy » Mon May 16, 2016 4:22 pm

Hello everyone. I am new to this forum and have a sub 37. I noticed in another thread that the velocity sensetivity was going to be imporved and am wondering if that was included in this update? I have my sub registered but somehow have not gotter the firmware email on it yet to check what has been added.

User avatar
F5D
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 4:05 pm

Re: Sub 37 Editor v1.0.0 & Firmware v1.2.0 is now available

Post by F5D » Wed May 25, 2016 2:49 pm

So, where do I get the new firmware? Why is it not yet posted on Moog website?

sub guy
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 7:39 pm

Re: Sub 37 Editor v1.0.0 & Firmware v1.2.0 is now available

Post by sub guy » Wed May 25, 2016 10:09 pm

F5D wrote:So, where do I get the new firmware? Why is it not yet posted on Moog website?

You should have gotten an email if your sub is registered. If it isnt then do that first. I emailed Moog support and they went it to me after a few days.

User avatar
tomoog
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 6:42 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Sub 37 Editor v1.0.0 & Firmware v1.2.0 is now available

Post by tomoog » Sun Jun 19, 2016 7:19 am

Sofine wrote:
PeriodicResonance wrote:I've installed the fw update and the editor but I seem to have problems with the editor talking to my sub 37. I can't seem to 'get' or 'send' patches. It says that the hardware is disconnected. It does seem to find the proper USB midi port though and in 'Setup' the MIDI IN/OUT ports booth say 'Moog Sub 37', and if I change a button on the front panel in the editor it makes the appropriate change on the sub 37. MIDI setting seem fine for backing up and restoring from Sysex Librarian. Send/Recv program changes are ON, MIDI channel is 1/1. I've forced the sub 37 to talk MIDI on usb only.

Any suggestions?
Hi, I am getting a similar issue here. I can make changes to the Sub37 from the editor (and I can also send / receive patches) but the changes I make on the synth are NOT reflected in the editor. Nor is the patch name displayed in the editor. Also, when I go to the librarian I also see the "hardware disconnected" message.

I'm pretty sure I have all connections set up correctly.

I have the latest firmware installed (1.2.0) and I have tried connecting the Sub37 directly to my PC (USB) and also through my midi interface (USB).

Strangely enough, it did work perfectly for me the first time I installed it but, after not being in the studio for a few weeks) I am now encountering theses issues. I can't remember having changed anything in my setup in that period.

Win 7 x 64
Standalone editor
iconnectivity iconnect 4

Any thoughts?

Thanks.
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Hi,
Re-check in your SETUP > EDITOR SETTINGS > MIDI INPUT
It should be the MOOG SUB 37. Try unsetting/resetting the value.
I had the same symptoms and it WAS working. Somehow it flipped to another setting.

btw "change a button on the front panel in the editor it makes the appropriate change on the sub 37"
This is MIDI OUTPUT not MIDI INPUT

Post Reply