Massive amounts of MIDI messages being sent

Everything Sub.
ludwig1

Massive amounts of MIDI messages being sent

Post by ludwig1 » Mon Mar 07, 2016 5:33 pm

I have narrowed it down to the Sub 37 using MIDI OX. Please see the screenshot. This is just a fraction of the readout...there are literally thousands of these messages being sent every 30 seconds or so. I am not a MIDI expert but is this normal? When in Cubase the MIDI monitor is going crazy even when I am not pressing any keys.

A related question: because of these messages, the pitch-bend is going crazy on some presets, especially the Minor Bender (B08-P03) because the pitch will start fluctuating as soon as these messages are sent. I should mention, I am not pressing any keys and this is still happening. Please help! Is this a malfunction of the Sub 37? Thank you.
Attachments
midi-ox.png

braddo

Re: Massive amounts of MIDI messages being sent

Post by braddo » Tue Mar 08, 2016 8:40 am

I'm no expert but there's a setting to change if your synth should provide the clock signal or not (if say you wanted to sync a delay to your arp). That will cut down on half of those messages.

Then if you say an instrument is waggling around can you tweak the mid wheel by hand to make it go off? Maybe the wheel is slightly out of adjustment.

Space Lee

Post by Space Lee » Tue Mar 08, 2016 10:04 am

Looks like one knob or wheel is the culprit, it is trying to decide at which value it should be.
Turn ALL knobs, reset pitchwheel and modulation wheel to their 'zero' positions and then look if it still is happening.
But if you already know which control it is, then you only have to turn one knob or wheel ofcourse :-)
Sub 37 Bob Moog Tribute Edition | Sub Phatty | Win10 pro 64bit | MOTU 828mk3 fw

ObtuseMoose

Post by ObtuseMoose » Tue Mar 08, 2016 10:39 am