Sub 37 Slaved to Analog Rytm?

Everything Sub.
Post Reply
DaveBee
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 11:08 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Sub 37 Slaved to Analog Rytm?

Post by DaveBee » Thu Sep 10, 2015 5:15 pm

Hey Moogys ...
Wondering if one of you has succesfully synced their Sub 37 to An Elektron Analog Rytm? I am hoping to set the temp of the sequencer to the Rytm. I have already slaved my DSI Pro2 to the Rytm and it temp syncs as well as starts/stops in response to the Rytm. However going to the Sub37 ... nada. I press sync button on Sub37 with the seq on/latch also pressed ... start/stop the Rytm or change tempo .... and nothing happens.

Wondering if I have missed a setting somewhere. Both devices on same midi channel. Can any one who has succesfully done this review their settings for me?

Thanks ... Dave

DaveBee
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 11:08 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Sub 37 Slaved to Analog Rytm?

Post by DaveBee » Thu Sep 10, 2015 9:23 pm

ok well after more messing around I was able to get the Sub 37 working in sync with the Rytm(tempo/start/stop). I was not able to quite use the output correctly using Sub37 thru port to the Pro 2 to continue the sync only. Nor was I able to sync the sub 37 using the thru port of the Pro 2. The Rytm does show it's thru port as a "Sync B" but I haven't been able to get that to work either. It might only work as a thru signal using master clock fed to the input. Maybe the only way is a device to split the Rytm midi out signal with a midi thru box. Fun with midi :lol:

MoogProg
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 11:09 am

Re: Sub 37 Slaved to Analog Rytm?

Post by MoogProg » Fri Sep 11, 2015 1:22 pm

DaveBee wrote:ok well after more messing around I was able to get the Sub 37 working in sync with the Rytm(tempo/start/stop). I was not able to quite use the output correctly using Sub37 thru port to the Pro 2 to continue the sync only. Nor was I able to sync the sub 37 using the thru port of the Pro 2. The Rytm does show it's thru port as a "Sync B" but I haven't been able to get that to work either. It might only work as a thru signal using master clock fed to the input. Maybe the only way is a device to split the Rytm midi out signal with a midi thru box. Fun with midi :lol:


I am running across a very similar situation, having trouble getting the Sub37 to pass along the MIDI Clock signal as a THRU. Really, I just want the Sub37 to echo the MIDI Clock and add nothing else to the chain. And, like the OP, have another piece of gear which also does not want to pass along the MIDI Clock. :?

User avatar
_DemonDan_
Posts: 1263
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 4:52 pm

Re: Sub 37 Slaved to Analog Rytm?

Post by _DemonDan_ » Fri Sep 11, 2015 3:05 pm

MoogProg wrote:I'm having trouble getting the Sub 37 to pass along the MIDI Clock signal as a THRU. Really, I just want the Sub37 to echo the MIDI Clock and add nothing else to the chain. And, like the OP, have another piece of gear which also does not want to pass along the MIDI Clock.


Part of the problem is that, daisy-chaining MIDI (Clock, Notes, whatever) adds a finite amount of latency each time you run it thru something.

So... the best way to distribute MIDI Clock is via a MIDI Thru box. That way, every device is getting the same amount of latency (and less of it, as well).

Here are three:

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/MIDIthru2

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/MIDIthru4

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/MIDIthru8

If you need to filter out non-MIDI Clock messages (Notes, Controllers, Patch Changes, etc.):

http://midisolutions.com/prodrte.htm

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/MIDIevent
_ :twisted: _DemonDan_ :twisted: _

JonLukas
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 4:27 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, California
Contact:

Re: Sub 37 Slaved to Analog Rytm?

Post by JonLukas » Fri Sep 11, 2015 7:34 pm

Thanks Dan, that's good to know. I'm also chaining synchronized devices, and I wondered if the sync could be better.

Would you happen to know if those thru boxes are able to be powered by the Sub 37 if it is used as the input...or if they will need the external power supply? (I noticed the Little Phatty is on the (long) list of products that don't provide enough power).
Pianoteq, Guda KickR, Drumaxx, Diva, Pigments, Flow Motion, Kontakt, Omnisphere 2, StudioLogic SL73, MainStage, Logic Pro X.
Downtempo performed live: http://echofabric.com

luczak
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 10:44 am

Re: Sub 37 Slaved to Analog Rytm?

Post by luczak » Sat Sep 12, 2015 5:03 am

I use the sequentix cirklon with my synths.
It's expensive but works with no proba at all.

DaveBee
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 11:08 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Sub 37 Slaved to Analog Rytm?

Post by DaveBee » Sat Sep 12, 2015 6:36 pm

_DemonDan_ wrote:
Part of the problem is that, daisy-chaining MIDI (Clock, Notes, whatever) adds a finite amount of latency each time you run it thru something.

So... the best way to distribute MIDI Clock is via a MIDI Thru box. That way, every device is getting the same amount of latency (and less of it, as well).

Here are three:

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/MIDIthru2

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/MIDIthru4

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/MIDIthru8

If you need to filter out non-MIDI Clock messages (Notes, Controllers, Patch Changes, etc.):

http://midisolutions.com/prodrte.htm

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/MIDIevent


Hi Demon_Dan ... Can you confirm that the MIDI Solutions boxes are able to be powered by the Analog Rytm. Sounds like the perfect solution. Thanks! ps .... great service from Sweetwater!

User avatar
Bald Eagle
Posts: 349
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 11:25 am
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: Sub 37 Slaved to Analog Rytm?

Post by Bald Eagle » Sat Sep 12, 2015 7:11 pm

Hey Dan ... What's your opinion of the MOTU MIDI Express XT? I have one and it seems to do it all but you seem to favor the MIDI Soultions products.

DaveBee
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 11:08 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Sub 37 Slaved to Analog Rytm?

Post by DaveBee » Wed Sep 16, 2015 11:20 pm

I did confirm from Elektron that the Rytm does not send midi clock via the thru port unless there is an input clock to pass. They seemed to suggest it would send a DIN24 or DIN48 clock instead of MIDI clock (not quite sure what that is) but I tried it and the Sub 37 didn't respond to it either. So Demon Dan's suggestion is probably a good solution for the price.

User avatar
_DemonDan_
Posts: 1263
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 4:52 pm

Re: Sub 37 Slaved to Analog Rytm?

Post by _DemonDan_ » Thu Sep 17, 2015 9:14 am

Bald Eagle wrote:Hey Dan ... What's your opinion of the MOTU MIDI Express XT?
I have one and it seems to do it all but you seem to favor the MIDI Soultions products.

Only because my synth universe has no fixed home. I take my gear to live shows, I teach with it at schools and universities, I create stuff with it at Sweetwater, I jam at friends' houses, and I occasionally write Owner's Manuals on my dinning room table. So I tend to like solutions that can easily be repurposed to suit my current configuration.

But I have used many of the various MOTU interfaces when building other people's rigs, and have always liked them.
_ :twisted: _DemonDan_ :twisted: _

JonLukas
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 4:27 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, California
Contact:

Re: Sub 37 Slaved to Analog Rytm?

Post by JonLukas » Sun Sep 20, 2015 1:04 pm

Looked like a great solution, but it seems that the MIDI Solutions products cannot be powered by the MIDI output of the Sub 37 (according to Sweetwater).

Does anyone have a suggestion of another MIDI splitter that will work (one with integrated power options such as DC adapter or battery?) I know MIDI Solutions has a power adapter, but that means yet another box, and it's only available by special order.
Pianoteq, Guda KickR, Drumaxx, Diva, Pigments, Flow Motion, Kontakt, Omnisphere 2, StudioLogic SL73, MainStage, Logic Pro X.
Downtempo performed live: http://echofabric.com

User avatar
Bald Eagle
Posts: 349
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 11:25 am
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: Sub 37 Slaved to Analog Rytm?

Post by Bald Eagle » Sun Sep 20, 2015 1:36 pm

JonLukas wrote:Looked like a great solution, but it seems that the MIDI Solutions products cannot be powered by the MIDI output of the Sub 37 (according to Sweetwater).

Does anyone have a suggestion of another MIDI splitter that will work (one with integrated power options such as DC adapter or battery?) I know MIDI Solutions has a power adapter, but that means yet another box, and it's only available by special order.

As I mentioned above I use a MOTU MIDI Express XT. It pretty much does is all. This is a great MIDI manager, I don't know how I could live without it. Highly recommended.

* 8 input ports, 8 output ports
* 128 channels
* Splitter
* Merger
* Routing (anything to anything)
* Filter
* SMPTE time code synchronizer
* MIDI Machine Control
* USB port for PC connection
* Foot pedal jack
* DC Powered
* 8 User definable preset configurations and 8 factory preset configurations.

JonLukas
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 4:27 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, California
Contact:

Re: Sub 37 Slaved to Analog Rytm?

Post by JonLukas » Sun Sep 20, 2015 3:27 pm

As I mentioned above I use a MOTU MIDI Express XT.


Thanks! I saw that, but at first glance it looked like it was for use with a computer. But it seems you are saying it can be used without a computer as well, which might make it just the thing. I will take a closer look.
Pianoteq, Guda KickR, Drumaxx, Diva, Pigments, Flow Motion, Kontakt, Omnisphere 2, StudioLogic SL73, MainStage, Logic Pro X.
Downtempo performed live: http://echofabric.com

User avatar
Bald Eagle
Posts: 349
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 11:25 am
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: Sub 37 Slaved to Analog Rytm?

Post by Bald Eagle » Sun Sep 20, 2015 7:01 pm

JonLukas wrote:
As I mentioned above I use a MOTU MIDI Express XT.


Thanks! I saw that, but at first glance it looked like it was for use with a computer. But it seems you are saying it can be used without a computer as well, which might make it just the thing. I will take a closer look.

You only need the computer to setup the user defined configurations with the included editor After that it operates standalone. Power on and you're good to go. You can of course also use USB for I/O to/from your DAW.

DaveBee
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 11:08 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Sub 37 Slaved to Analog Rytm?

Post by DaveBee » Wed Sep 30, 2015 11:34 am

Just an update to my original post. I did end up purchasing a Midi Thru box with 4 outs (MIDI Solutions) from Sweetwater. I hooked up my Sub 37 and DSI Pro 2 both running their own sequencer. All worked as expected with the box being powered by the Rytm and the two synths being correctly synced to the Rytm's clock.

Post Reply