Sub 37 Firmware 1.0.2 Bugs

Everything Sub.
Toom
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2014 4:38 pm

Sub 37 Firmware 1.0.2 Bugs

Post by Toom » Sat Aug 30, 2014 11:03 am

I successfully updated the new firmware on my Sub 37 and I'm still getting issues with it freezing on me.

The patches that were causing me problems before are still causing me problems now. Hard to know for sure what's causing it, but figure I would post. It happens when I'm playing with a patch then quickly select the next patch. It just freezes and holds a note. Nothing works after that and I have reboot. If I make sure that I don't press any notes and there's no sound being outputted, then I switch to the patch, it works.

JonLukas
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 4:27 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, California
Contact:

Re: Sub 37 Firmware 1.0.2 Bugs

Post by JonLukas » Sat Aug 30, 2014 11:36 am

I have this issue on 1.0.2 on a couple of the patches I made. When I change patches, the note hangs, no controls work, and it has to be restarted. It seems to happen on patches where the amp envelope latch is on. If I turn off the latch before changing the patch, the problem doesn't happen.
Pianoteq, Guda KickR, Drumaxx, Diva, Pigments, Flow Motion, Kontakt, Omnisphere 2, StudioLogic SL73, MainStage, Logic Pro X.
Downtempo performed live: http://echofabric.com

charbot
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 9:41 pm

Re: Sub 37 Firmware 1.0.2 Bugs

Post by charbot » Sat Aug 30, 2014 11:55 am

Perhaps not a 'bug' but the osc octaves are not read when the unit powers up. When switching to panel for the first time, osc 1 seems to default to 2' and osc #2 is at 8'. The other knobs/switches all seem to be updated.

bartleby
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 2:20 am
Location: berlin

Re: Sub 37 Firmware 1.0.2 Bugs

Post by bartleby » Sat Aug 30, 2014 12:31 pm

have you tried doing a global setting restore (global menu/init settings)?

some hours after i did the update to 1.0.2, my s37 got into a strange state where it didn't react to any input (knobs, buttons, keys, whatever) except for the 'programming section' - as if someone had switche it to 'global off' or something. i did a setting restore, and it's been running stable ever since.
i guess it's always a good idea to restore to factory settings after doing an update that adds new menu items.

i noticed another issue though: ever since updateing to 1.0.2, the 'fine tune' know doesn't tune the synth anymore. in the menues, it does it's thing scrolling to menu items, so it's not a hardware issue. but it doesn't fulfill its main purpose. anyone else noticed this?

bartleby
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 2:20 am
Location: berlin

Re: Sub 37 Firmware 1.0.2 Bugs

Post by bartleby » Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:00 pm

ok, more strangeness:

- for a time, the fine tune know wasn't doing anything. but after entering panel mode, the it was working again.

- panel mode doesn't always seem to correctly read the position of all the rotary switches. i've had a few instances where e.d. the lfo switch was set to triangle, but it was playing a ramp wave instead in panel mode etc. can't reproduce it though. sometimes it works, sometimes it doesnt.

- at one point, after saving a patch to preset slot 16-11, preset led #11 stayed on, even after selecting other patches. so i had two preset leds on at a time - #11 and the one corresponding to whichever patch i was playing. so far, this has happened only once, again it's not something i can reproduce.

oblis
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:44 am

Re: Sub 37 Firmware 1.0.2 Bugs

Post by oblis » Sat Aug 30, 2014 3:19 pm

JonLukas wrote:I have this issue on 1.0.2 on a couple of the patches I made. When I change patches, the note hangs, no controls work, and it has to be restarted. It seems to happen on patches where the amp envelope latch is on. If I turn off the latch before changing the patch, the problem doesn't happen.


Same here...Latch seems to be the main culprit.

User avatar
jido-genshi
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 5:05 pm
Location: Portland Oregon by way of Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Sub 37 Firmware 1.0.2 Bugs

Post by jido-genshi » Sun Aug 31, 2014 7:43 pm

I thought everything was fine after the 1.0.2 update, but now I am back to getting the freeze when I go to the Boom Bah patch. The whole synth locks up and I have to turn it off and on again. Very frustrating!

bartleby
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 2:20 am
Location: berlin

Re: Sub 37 Firmware 1.0.2 Bugs

Post by bartleby » Sun Aug 31, 2014 8:55 pm

yep, i've had a few freezes since intalling 1.0.2, usually while playing sequences from the internal sequencer or while switching between different patches. i didn't ge the impression that it's reproducably tied to any specific patches, though. it just seemed to happen out of the blue from time to time, while playing with my s37 yesterday. it didn't happen frequently, but often enough to get on my nerves.

actually, 1.0.1 felt more stable to me. but that may be just because i did the update relatively shortly after receiving my s37 and thus have spent more time with it after the update than before.

i hope they fix this soon. with the current fw, i'm afraid the s37 isn't suitable for live situations, as it might crash any moment.

lushr
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 11:19 pm

Re: Sub 37 Firmware 1.0.2 Bugs

Post by lushr » Mon Sep 01, 2014 3:06 am

So should I wait for the sub editor to come out? Or are there things I just can't do until I update to 1.02?

I'm still on factory settings.

I've been avoiding learning to write presets with sequencers as I vaguely remember this is the issue the 1.02 fixes?

How long till the sub 37 editor comes out? I'm not being impatient, just trying to judge whether to wait or figure out how to update to either 1.01 or 1.02 (or wait for a 1.03)
___________________________________________________
LP Stage II, LE Sub37

egg
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 7:48 am

Re: Sub 37 Firmware 1.0.2 Bugs

Post by egg » Mon Sep 01, 2014 5:54 am

Is anybody realistically going to use boom bah for any of their recordings? Get rid of that thing.

bartleby
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 2:20 am
Location: berlin

Re: Sub 37 Firmware 1.0.2 Bugs

Post by bartleby » Mon Sep 01, 2014 5:58 am

it's not tied to that patch.
i had three freezes yesterday without touching any of the factory presets.

egg
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 7:48 am

Re: Sub 37 Firmware 1.0.2 Bugs

Post by egg » Mon Sep 01, 2014 6:47 am

Hmm, this does not sound great. I wanted this for my main live synth to replace the 110f (hence duophony)

bartleby
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 2:20 am
Location: berlin

Re: Sub 37 Firmware 1.0.2 Bugs

Post by bartleby » Mon Sep 01, 2014 7:41 am

from my personal experience with v1.0.2, i wouldn't currently recommend to take this synth onto a stage.
let's hope they fix the stability issues soon. in terms of functionality and sound, it's already great.

egg
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 7:48 am

Re: Sub 37 Firmware 1.0.2 Bugs

Post by egg » Mon Sep 01, 2014 9:22 am

I imagine a few new OS updates will appear before my pre order anyway haha :roll:

mmarsh100
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: Sub 37 Firmware 1.0.2 Bugs

Post by mmarsh100 » Mon Sep 01, 2014 1:45 pm

A different view: after some trouble getting 1.0.2 onto the 37, it is now rock solid. I have had zero issues with freezes.

Post Reply