Sub Phatty Cutoff Control automatically resets to 200hz?!?

Everything Sub.
M Sterling

Sub Phatty Cutoff Control automatically resets to 200hz?!?

Post by M Sterling » Thu Feb 27, 2014 2:25 pm

I was on the gig the other night, ready to rock my Sub Phatty on a new tune, and as I started playing, I noticed the cutoff control was acting strange. As I turned it, the cutoff would open, but then almost immediately jump down to 200hz. EVERY TIME. RAAAR. After that, if I continued turning it, it would jump to random points in the cutoff spectrum only to land at 200hz.

I thought maybe it was weird power at the venue or some kind of strange issue that power cycle would fix, but alas, it does the same thing in my home studio that I use it in all the time.

If anyone has any advice on what is up with my synth, I would be very appreciative.
Last edited by M Sterling on Mon Mar 03, 2014 3:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MuzzFuzz

Re: Sub Phatty Cutoff Control automatically resets to 200hz?

Post by MuzzFuzz » Fri Feb 28, 2014 12:19 pm

Have you tried doing an Initialize Globals? See...

http://www.moogconnect.net/downloads/su ... v1_1_4.pdf

...on the bottom row.

If you've been automating the cutoff with MIDI, the MIDI values you send get kind of "added to" the values indicated by the knob position. So if you've previously used MIDI to send a low cutoff frequency (or say, sweep it low), and the Cutoff knob was turned up high at the time, then you grabbed the knob and turned it down, the Sub's "internal position" of the knob can end up really low.

Initialize Globals resets these "internal positions" (my description) so they agree with the physical position of the knob.

I'd advise you to keep a copy of the chart in your gig bag. If you're working with parameter automation at home and taking the Sub out live later, you'll get a lot of use out of it.

Hope this helps. :-)

Cheers,
Murray.

M Sterling

Post by M Sterling » Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:08 pm

Thanks for the reply!