Sub Phatty cutoff filter knob broken?

Everything Sub.
troglodisme

Sub Phatty cutoff filter knob broken?

Post by troglodisme » Wed Aug 28, 2013 6:12 am

Hi guys, I am a newbie here..

I have been reading some of the posts regarding the sub phatty that I bought less than a month ago. Like everyone I will wait for the editor for and the firmware update (to solve problems using ableton and midi), but in the meanwhile I would like to know if anybody is having similar problems to mine.

My cutoff wheel seems to be kind of broken, and it doesn't look like a software thing, more like electrical or "mechanical". Basically:

- I am playing some notes
- I change the position on the cutoff knob, let's say from 80hz to 1.2khz
- I take my finger out of the knob

and the filter just cuts back to 80 or anyway to another position. As soon as I touch the center of wheel (the metallic bit) the filter goes back to 1.2 again, but only until my finger is touching the wheel. It is very odd and it looks like something related to ground.

I have tested this in studio and at home, using various presets and without the midi connected at all.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! THANKS!

till

Re: Sub Phatty cutoff filter knob broken?

Post by till » Sat Aug 31, 2013 5:08 am

Without MIDI or USB connected?
Then it is not a MIDI loop (might happen via USB too!)
I can't imagine a setting on the Sub Phatty doing a thing like this.
So I am afraid you will have to contact the Moog support.
keep on turning these Moog knobs

Sequence:
Prodigy * minimoog '79 * Voyager * MF102 * MF103 * MF104z * MP201 * Taurus 3 * Minitaur * Sub Phatty * MF105 * Minimoog 2017+ MUSE * One 16

grailtone

Post by grailtone » Sat Aug 31, 2013 1:48 pm

Mine is doing the same thing, no midi/usb/computer, local on.