Is my Subphatty able to recreate Little Phatty sounds?

Everything Sub.
amos922

Is my Subphatty able to recreate Little Phatty sounds?

Post by amos922 » Fri Mar 29, 2013 5:00 pm

I was in guitar center playing with a little phatty today. Being that I am a first time moog owner with the subphatty, I noticed a substantial difference in the sound between the two. I am a fairly descent sound programmer but have not been able to come close to the sound of the little phatty. Is this because of the difference in the two different oscillators used between the two? THe little phatty seems to have more of a "true analog" sound to it, im wondering was that intentional on behalf of moog? Looking at the two, although I didnt dive deeply into the specs of the little phatty, I should be able to create those sounds or come pretty close. Can someone explain why these two instruments sound completely different?

IgorCristo

Re: Is my Subphatty able to recreate Little Phatty sounds?

Post by IgorCristo » Fri Mar 29, 2013 8:13 pm

I don't think they can sound exactly the same… the oscillators aren't the same, neither is the filter. They can achieve very similar sounds, but one can't sound like the other. That's why I'm waiting for my Sub Phatty!
Last edited by IgorCristo on Fri Mar 29, 2013 10:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Moog Minimoog Voyager Performer Edition and Little Phatty Stage II | Elektron Analog Four and Analog Rytm | Mutable Instruments Ambika | Korg Minilogue

amos922

Post by amos922 » Fri Mar 29, 2013 9:26 pm

Yea I don't think they sound too similar. I think they may be good compliment pieces. The subphatty is a nice piece extremely loud, it doesn't sound very analogue too me. The filters of course and certain elements. I would be interested to see how they both sound side by side. Found a little phatty for 700, I may be finding out pretty soon

George Nada

Post by George Nada » Fri Mar 29, 2013 10:28 pm