Moog Music Forum

Share Ideas and Pass the word

RME background noise

Tips and techniques for Minimoog Analog Synthesizers

RME background noise

Postby jyoung » Thu Mar 12, 2009 12:11 am

I'm noticing a very slight bit of background noise coming from the RME. This is especially noticable after playing notes in the higher ranges, where the noise seems to have a pitch that is relative to the note that was last played. Normal or no? Is there any adjustment that can be done to reduce this?
== Voyager RME v3.5 ==
jyoung
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 7:22 pm

Postby Just Me » Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:03 am

Little bit of oscillator sneaking through the VCA. My Signature does it, My D used to do it, too. If you clamp down the filter in that patch, you will probably hear it go away. (or switch off the mixer switches) That could isolate where in the path it was coming from.
On some settings, I can sort of preview what the patch is from audio leaking through.
"Music expresses that which can not be said and on which it is impossible to be silent."
Just Me
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 11:46 pm
Location: The Great Southwest

Postby aaronh » Sun Jan 17, 2010 10:32 am

Getting a lot of noise from my RME.
not just when i play notes tho, when its idle aswell. Ive tried swapping channels on the mixer, swapping cables, trying the cables in other synths and they are fine (no noise).

When i turn the voyager off, there is still a little bit of noise but not as much..
I was suspecting it was all the power cables i have about the place but since the other synths dont pick it up i now think its the voyager.

thoughts?
aaronh
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 9:32 pm

Postby dingebre » Sat Jan 23, 2010 8:59 pm

aaronh wrote:Getting a lot of noise from my RME.
not just when i play notes tho, when its idle aswell. Ive tried swapping channels on the mixer, swapping cables, trying the cables in other synths and they are fine (no noise).

When i turn the voyager off, there is still a little bit of noise but not as much..
I was suspecting it was all the power cables i have about the place but since the other synths dont pick it up i now think its the voyager.

thoughts?


Ground loop? Try an isolation transformer in the output cables. I use an Ebtec Hum Eliminator http://www.ebtechaudio.com/hedes.html

It works great. You can also get inline isolators. Long unbalanced cables are especially a problem.
dingebre
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2008 12:21 pm

Postby Just Me » Sat Jan 23, 2010 9:19 pm

When I make ANY connection between my Voyager and my Modular I get a bunch of hum. I get none of it using the CP-251's. I assume it's a ground loop between the Voyager and the Modular. But I'm at a loss on how to cure it when there can be as many as 8 or more cables between the two of them. For now I just use a noise gate but that kills some dynamics. I'm thinking of making some power cables that I can ground lift and try that.
"Music expresses that which can not be said and on which it is impossible to be silent."
Just Me
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 11:46 pm
Location: The Great Southwest

Postby aaronh » Sat Jan 23, 2010 10:44 pm

I thought in the UK we didnt have the ground loop problem because our cables are already earth.

shows much i know.
aaronh
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 9:32 pm

Postby dingebre » Sun Jan 24, 2010 3:50 am

For audio routing, you can use a "Hum Eliminator" and try each cable until it goes away. Or use the 8 channel rack mount and just run all your audio through it. Ebtech also makes a "HumX" which safely filters the ground on a three prong cable maintaining the ground connection. Using one of these on the Voyager power cord might help/cure the problem. Never defeat the ground lug on a power cable!

I also bought a couple of XLR inline transformers from the local Pro-Studio store as I was getting a ground loop connecting to the powered monitors.

The Ebtech site has a nice tutorial on ground loops.

http://www.ebtechaudio.com/findloop.pdf

No affiliation, just a happy customer. Their stuff isn't cheap, but it works and my 52 year old ears don't hear any degradation :)
dingebre
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2008 12:21 pm

Re: RME background noise

Postby MultipleChoice » Sun Jun 09, 2019 11:23 pm

Hi, I got the same problem.

In my case Gate never closes entirely.

I get rid of it if I turn down the volume(s) or close the filter entirely, but otherwise I can hear the OSCs as if in "drone" mode with all modulation on a low volume but clearly audible.
(That is why it is more audible in certain pitch ranges or if both OSCs at full volume.)

Do you have a similar issue maybe?
MultipleChoice
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 5:31 pm

Re: RME background noise

Postby bichuelo » Tue Jun 11, 2019 12:43 pm

I had a similar problem, a constant whine which went away when I used the CP-251 with its own adapter, instead of using the Voyager as its power supply through the VX-351
http://audiotecna.info
T-III, Voyager, VX-351, Slim Phatty, Model D, Sub Phatty, Subsequent 37, Minitaur, all moogerfoogers and minifoogers, EW+, Theremini, Model 15, Filtatron, Animoog, Model D App, iOS 11 Mother-32, DFAM, Werkstatt, Win7, High Sierra
User avatar
bichuelo
 
Posts: 783
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: Bogotá, Colombia


Return to Minimoog Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 2 guests