Ex-Gary Numan Minimoog

Tips and techniques for Minimoog Analog Synthesizers
mashtone

Ex-Gary Numan Minimoog

Post by mashtone » Sat Feb 27, 2021 11:55 am

I bought a Minimoog from Gary in the mid 90s, he said at the time it was one of 2 he still had, and that the other one was not in sellable condition as it had fallen out of the back of a tour truck in the 80s and he said he wanted one to stick on the wall for nostalga IIRC. I was a student in Manchester in the early 90s and we all wanted a machine to make deep thudding basslines with, and a Minimoog was the holy grail even then. The manner in which it came my way was that I put a 'wanted' ad in Sound on Sound magazine (yes, that's how we got our hands on rare stuff pre-internet), and Gemma called me and off I went to swap my student loan for a MInimoog :D

Anyway, my son was quizzing me about it earlier today and asked me who Gary Numan was , so we googled him together and came across an article from 2015 where in an interview he says he bought his first Minimoog in late 1979 - the year he said mine was from when I bought it, and I'm sure the serial number should back that up if correct. I also think it is highly likely I have his FIRST Minimoog which I'll explain after posting the link to the article:

https://www.side-line.com/gary-numan-te ... wildhoney/

So, why do I think I might have his first one? Well, I didn't think much of it until now but it also has '#1' inscribed into the wood just a few inches left of the Moog badge on the panel above the keyboard. This is obviously a way they used to ID each of the 5/6 Minimoogs they had, and whether it was there when it was in Gary's posession will have to be verified by either Gary or someone who was there at the time. I know it was definitely there but I understand anyone who can use a marker pen could have done it.