Model-D Reissue - MIDI bugginess

Tips and techniques for Minimoog Analog Synthesizers
Eluxtria

Model-D Reissue - MIDI bugginess

Post by Eluxtria » Fri Aug 18, 2017 1:37 am

Hey, I am a new Model D owner. I was fortunate enough to visit Moogfest this year and the price and everything else was so tempting I had to have it. Ok.

So, I am a seasoned MIDI expert, but its been so long since I have had problems with any MIDI device I am not really sure where to begin. First question would be, does anyone else have issues with using their Model D Reissue as a MIDI controller?

I am using it with Logic Pro X and while I have used more than 50 different controllers with Logic, I have never actually had any kinds of MIDI problems like I am experiencing with the Model D.

Two primary symptoms:
• stuck notes (not receiving off events correctly)
• not playing any notes at all (requires start/stop logic a few times to 'jiggle the handle'

Sometimes, I have to power-cycle the Model D before it will transmit notes. What's weirder is that often Logic shows its receiving notes, but somehow not responding to them. This is incredibly rare. Its almost like its getting a broken note on signal which registers enough to be a note event but then does nothing.

I also had a lot of trouble with local on/off modes initially too. Where once I turned local OFF, it stopped transmitting notes, even after a restart. Sometimes switching local off/on/off/on a few times is required to get it to respond correctly.

I should probably call Moog tech support, but I really do not want to have to ship it back. I feel like I am still experiencing my honeymoon phase.

Thanks!

Iaamusic

Re: Model-D Reissue - MIDI bugginess

Post by Iaamusic » Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:15 pm

Are you using latest firmware?

bichuelo

Post by bichuelo » Sat Aug 19, 2017 6:40 pm

I tried using mine and all of these features work fine

Indeed, it might be worth a shot upgrading your firmware
http://audiotecna.info