Model D or MFB Dominion 1?

Tips and techniques for Minimoog Analog Synthesizers
Geddhinadi

Model D or MFB Dominion 1?

Post by Geddhinadi » Tue Feb 28, 2017 6:01 pm

Hey people!,

Maybe you can help me with a decision...

I'm going to choose wether I buy a MFB Domion of the Moog Model D... Right now I'm more into the Model D, the only thing that holds me back is that I fear that I'll run out of sounds too quick... I'm an experimental musician, it's all about discovering new territory in sound... I don't want a patch to sound like the one I did before... The MFB Dominion 1 has a lot of modulation options, like a TON - and sounds great! But the Model D is just a Model D and I honestly don't know why I love it so much but I just do. It sounds so fat, alive and warm...
Also I prefer the Minimoogs design far more than the design of the Dominion. I have the feeling if I buy the Dominion I will feel a hole in my heart that only a Model D can fill... Of course on a Moog forum I'm expecting that 90% will cheer for the Model D, but still I want to hear your opinion...

Do you think I'll run out of sounds with the Model D quick? Or will I be able to explore it past infinity? That's a major buy-or-buy-not argument for me right here... Is the Model D a better option for experimental musicians? Or is the MFB Domion a better choice if one wants a long-lasting sound exploration?

Thanks for reading! Any spelling mistakes emerge from me being german...

Iaamusic

Re: Model D or MFB Dominion 1?

Post by Iaamusic » Wed Mar 01, 2017 7:34 am

Hi,

I doubt whether the Model D will limit you too unduly with sound design - ok its modulation is more limited, but unless you want multi modulation all over the place you can do more than ok - see this - I really enjoyed this and this is the old version of the Model D - with even less modulation options!

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=bU2RVYHeVEE

Ian

motion drive

Post by motion drive » Wed Mar 01, 2017 9:34 am