Page 1 of 1

Patch cables

Posted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 10:15 pm
by Ophidean
Just purchased an Oberkorn sequencer from Analog solutions. Can someone recommend patch cables I should buy to use with a Voyager? Since the Oberkorn use 1/8" inputs, I will need 1/4" to 1/8"?

Re: Patch cables

Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 5:48 pm
by misterpete
Hosa makes them ~ so does Doepfer - both those brands worked well for me ~ make sure you get MONO on both ends

Re: Patch cables

Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 6:27 pm
by Vsyevolod
Mono aka TS (tip/sleeve).

Stephen




.

Re: Patch cables

Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 6:31 pm
by misterpete
Anybody know where to find 1/4" Insert Cables with 3.5mm tip and ring for connecting to Eurorack?

Re: Patch cables

Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:18 pm
by Ophidean
Unfortunately I can't get the Oberkorn to work with my Voyager. Followed the instructions:

Voltage A out into the CV Pitch on the Voyager
Gate X out into the ENV Gate input on Voyager
Keyboard set to on/External

Getting nothing

Using TS mono cables 1/4- 3.5mm

Re: Patch cables

Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:34 pm
by misterpete
have you got your Oberkorn set to "int" and running (with lights blinking) ?

Ophidean wrote:Unfortunately I can't get the Oberkorn to work with my Voyager. Followed the instructions:

Voltage A out into the CV Pitch on the Voyager
Gate X out into the ENV Gate input on Voyager
Keyboard set to on/External

Getting nothing

Using TS mono cables 1/4- 3.5mm

Re: Patch cables

Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 12:53 pm
by fyvewytches
I don't know the Oberkorn but here are a couple of things I can't think of to test:

Do you hear a pitch change if you trigger the voyager using the keyboard, with the sequencer running ?

Regarding the gate, make sure you are sending a long enough gate for the EG to trigger properly. By this I mean that if your gate length is very short on the sequencer and the attack is quite long on the voyager, the VCA may never reach an audible level.

Hope this helps !

Re: Patch cables

Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 1:13 pm
by misterpete
oh right - also try reducing the "glide" time on "A" ~ if it's too high it sometimes can make it sound like nothing is happening as well...

Re: Patch cables

Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:26 pm
by Ophidean
Thanks all for your responses. I figured out my cable issue...(never buy from radio shack)