Noob with no issues and a damn big smile

Tips and techniques for Minimoog Analog Synthesizers
Spav

Noob with no issues and a damn big smile

Post by Spav » Sat Jun 23, 2012 7:28 am

Hi Gang. I am a new Voyager PE owner and moderate risk taker as I bought a non-working VPE. I have been tinkering with synths for over 35 years and I am a qualified electronics/software engineer and partime muso as well. I have re-written the firmware for an Opera 6 from my reverse engineering so felt that I should be able to manage to work my way through fixing a mono synth. To be honest I just can't wait to get it going so I thought I may as well ask for a few pointers. Here is the story so far.............

Fault:
When the unit is turned on no audio output from either line L&R or headphone sockets. Factory defaults were then applied and still the same. The OS was upgraded from version 3.4 to 3.5. Still no audio after upgrade. It's a later model with the upgraded digital board.

Investigation:
  • LFO led flashes and responds to contol, sync with keyboard flicks LED when key pressed. All front panel controls are providing input to the digital section, ie. change on the display when adjusted. Midi output is all working. Midi In worked as it upgraded okay.
  • Output at the mixer (tested at the insert jack) seem to be present. This output seemed to be okay with various oscillators and modulation sources applied except for envelope modulation. The tone follows the keyboard and glide works.