Some help with Jan Hammer-style sounds

Tips and techniques for Minimoog Analog Synthesizers
doubltyme

Some help with Jan Hammer-style sounds

Post by doubltyme » Wed Feb 09, 2005 9:40 pm

Hi everyone.
I've been browsing the net and this board to see if I could find some programming tips for the Voyager. I'm not totally new to analog synths but I'm just learning the basics. I am a jazz/fusion player and I've transcribed a lot of Jan Hammer's Moog solos but I can't seem to replicate some of the tones he gets on Birds of Fire, especially in Celestrial Terestrial Commutors. I don't know if this is a totally newbie question (I'm sure it is) but can anyone point me in the right direction? I seem to be able to nail the Keith Emerson stuff which sounds killer but Jan Hammer's sounds elude me. Any help would be much appreciated.

LWG

Post Subject

Post by LWG » Thu Feb 10, 2005 2:34 am

Hello,

A great deal of how Jan Hammer comes across on synth leads is not as much in the patch as how he bends his notes.
Jan Hammer uses pitch inflections that are common to the guitar.
Although he's said that he doesn't make a conscious effort to "imitate" the guitar, his inflections and phrasing invokes the instrument.
One must also keep in mind that he didn't always use the Mini by itself, but
effects and modules were appended to it. Among them were flanger and
Oberheim SEM.
His solo on "Led Boots" from Jeff Beck's Wired brings this to mind.
There were many "plucky" lead sounds, commonly played on the Minimoog during the seventies, with that guitar-like flavor.
One generic setting you could use for this type of patch is:

Osc 1: 10% pulse, Oct: 8' or 4' , mixer vol: 9
Osc 2: Saw, Oct: 8' or 4", mixer vol: 2.5, freq: min or no beating.
Filter res: 0, freq:about 150Hz, FEG amt: +3.3, mode: 4-pole LP, kb amt: 0
FEG A: min, D: 6, S: 5 (or 0), R:=D
AEG A: min D: 5, S: 9, R:=D, Trigger: Single, Glide: Off
LFO rate: 5.9Hz, Wheel amt: 1.9, Dest: pitch, Source: vibrato-trill or trill.