Subharmonicon - A different rhythm for each oscilator?

Mother-32, DFAM, Subharmonicon, Grandmother, Matriarch
Bork

Subharmonicon - A different rhythm for each oscilator?

Post by Bork » Sun May 22, 2022 8:36 am

I'm very new to modular and a have recently purchased a subharmonicon. I'm trying to get VCO 1 to play slowly while VCO 2 plays quickly.

What I'm trying:

Oscilators
VCO 1 - I have assigned OSC 1, SUB 1, and SUB 1 to SEQ 1
VCO 2 - I have assigned OSC 2, SUB 2, and SUB 2 to SEQ 2

POLYRHYTHMS
RHYTHM 1 is rotated all the way counter clockwise (~7 o'clock position) and SEQ 1 is pressed under RHYTHM 1.
RHYTHM 2 is rotated all the way clockwise (~5 o'clock position) and SEQ 2 is pressed under RHYTHM 2.

My issue
If I press SEQ 1 under rhythm 1 (the slow rhythm), VCO 1 plays slowly. However, then when I press SEQ 2 under rhythm 2 (the fast rhythm), I hear VCO 1 triggered each step of sequencer 2. I'm sure it's VCO 1 because it sounds the same and still happens with the volumes of VCO 2 turned all the way down.

Can I have sequencer 2 only trigger VCO 2?

Is there a way to do this through patching?

Bork

Re: Subharmonicon - A different rhythm for each oscilator?

Post by Bork » Tue May 24, 2022 12:08 am

I think a section of this article describes what I’m struggling with.

https://www.engadget.com/moog-subharmon ... 11051.html
Now, it’s important to note that the Subharmonicon is paraphonic -- which means the oscillators share a single amp envelope and filter envelope. So when the sequencer triggers one voice, both sound. This means you can’t really have a slowly plucked melody playing over a constantly thumping bassline without some patchbay trickery (or external modules). This is a shame, because being able to trigger the oscillators separately would open up whole new avenues for rhythmic exploration. But there are still plenty of opportunities for them to interact in interesting ways.