Page 1 of 1

how do you get 2 different 32 step sequences to play back?

Posted: Tue Mar 05, 2019 11:44 pm
by mattymel
I know this is elementary stuff. Ive tried using the "set end" button but no luck.

i have 2 32 step sequences I'm trying to get the Mother 32 to play back to back. I know this has to be possible without nudging the pattern from 1 to 2 every time you want it to move on to the 2nd 32 step sequence. Right?

Can someone explain what i need to do?

Re: how do you get 2 different 32 step sequences to play bac

Posted: Wed Mar 06, 2019 11:22 am
by mattymel
So I heard back from Moog and evidently this isn’t possible with the M32. Pretty limiting, I have to say.

Is there another piece of gear that might be able to control/play the saved patterns?

Re: how do you get 2 different 32 step sequences to play bac

Posted: Wed Mar 06, 2019 5:04 pm
by _DemonDan_
mattymel wrote:So I heard back from Moog and evidently this isn’t possible with the M32. Pretty limiting, I have to say. Is there another piece of gear that might be able to control/play the saved patterns?

Hi mattyme,

Just checking but... are you aware of this?

From page 48 of the Owners Manual:

MIDI PROGRAM CHANGE MESSAGES
MIDI program changes 1 to 64 select the current sequencer pattern location.

Re: how do you get 2 different 32 step sequences to play bac

Posted: Wed Mar 06, 2019 9:46 pm
by bichuelo
Indeed, that works fine.

I am currently looking for an app which does this, and there are actually several which do so, like Midistep, Xequence or Genome

Re: how do you get 2 different 32 step sequences to play bac

Posted: Thu Mar 07, 2019 11:25 pm
by mattymel
_DemonDan_ wrote:
mattymel wrote:So I heard back from Moog and evidently this isn’t possible with the M32. Pretty limiting, I have to say. Is there another piece of gear that might be able to control/play the saved patterns?

Hi mattyme,

Just checking but... are you aware of this?

From page 48 of the Owners Manual:

MIDI PROGRAM CHANGE MESSAGES
MIDI program changes 1 to 64 select the current sequencer pattern location.


Hey. Can you explain that to me? Im not MIDI savvy in the least.

To give everyone an idea of all I'm trying to do...all it is is a 64 step sequence for two different parts on 2 M32s. All 8th notes. Very simple. Below is a simplified lead sheet...
M32 1 Part 1: 4/4 ||:CCCCCCCC etc|Cx8|Ax8|Ax8|Fx8|Fx8|Fx8|Fx8:||
M32 2 Part 2: 4/4 ||:GEGECEEC:|| x8 measures

Since I found out I can't have the Mother32 play a 64 pattern as is required for "Part 1" (this according to the Moog guy that wrote me back...if he's wrong, PLEASE PLEASE let me know!!! That would be GREAT!) Ive been trying instead to figure out how to play "Part 1" as ratcheted 8th notes (so basically still 32 steps and ratcheted) so that it is only still four 8 step patterns (=32 steps).

I would have thought that then I could use Setup Mode to change the "Tempo Input Mode" for Part 1 (to Assignable Output Mode 3: Sequencer Clock/2) so that Part 2 is still playing in the intended tempo and Part 1 would basically be feeling "half time" by taking the Assign Patch out of M32/2 into the Tempo Patch of M32/1? No?

Well it doesn't work. Not at all.

I have faith that what Im trying to do MUST be possible. Kind of crazy that something so simple isn't easier to figure out.

HELP!

Re: how do you get 2 different 32 step sequences to play bac

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 2:18 pm
by Glitch Patcher
You may need another module if you want them to play back to back automatically via CV control.

you can setup the assign to out put a CV at step one of the sequence on the M32 you can use this with mothers little helper to switch between patterns

Re: how do you get 2 different 32 step sequences to play bac

Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2019 12:37 pm
by mattymel
Glitch Patcher wrote:You may need another module if you want them to play back to back automatically via CV control.

you can setup the assign to out put a CV at step one of the sequence on the M32 you can use this with mothers little helper to switch between patterns

Any suggestions as to what might do that? I’m not familiar with euroravk stuff.

Re: how do you get 2 different 32 step sequences to play bac

Posted: Mon Mar 11, 2019 6:25 pm
by Glitch Patcher
https://www.juno.co.uk/products/erogeno ... 1uEALw_wcB

The above module is the easiest way to do it.

otherwise you can output program midi messages into the M32 to select pattern