Moog Music Forum

Share Ideas and Pass the word

Grandmother VCA AMt in: Add or Multiply?

Tabletop Semi-Modular Analog Synthesizers

Grandmother VCA AMt in: Add or Multiply?

Postby goatofneptune » Sun Sep 16, 2018 4:34 pm

I just got my Grandmother. I patched the KB Vel Out to the VCA Amt In, because I wanted to play it dynamically, but it didnt work. The Manual says on Page 22, that the Signals are multiplied (then it would be possible to play the gm dynamically), but on page 41 it says the signals are just added (which means its not possible to play it dynamically). So which one is true? Is ist possible to play the grandmother dynamically? How shall I patch it (I dont mean Filter cutoff, but the loudness reacting on velocity).

Cheers,
User avatar
goatofneptune
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 8:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Grandmother VCA AMt in: Add or Multiply?

Postby goatofneptune » Sat Sep 22, 2018 6:39 pm

ok, I did some more research. The VCA Amt In does multiply its signal with the one from the EG. You can make a nice amplitude modulation when you put in the Wave Out of the Modulation in the VCA Amt in. This works because the Modulation Wave out gives out Voltages from round about -5 to +5 Volt. BUT: you cant play it dynamically while putting the KB Vel out to the VCA Amt in, because the KB Vel Out works from 0 to +5 Volt, so it wont substrakt any Voltages from the EG, and because of this, the level wont get softer when you hit the keys softer :/ You will need a second external voltage controlled VCA (eg the vc mixer from the mother 32) for this.

Or has anyone a solution for this?
User avatar
goatofneptune
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 8:19 am
Location: Germany


Return to Grandmother, Mother-32 & DFAM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest