Moog Music Forum

Share Ideas and Pass the word

Tempo Sync DFAM & Roland TR-08

Tabletop Semi-Modular Analog Synthesizers

Tempo Sync DFAM & Roland TR-08

Postby megalonyx » Sat Jan 20, 2018 7:03 pm

I'm trying to sync tempo of my DFAM to my Roland TR-08. I tried using the "TriggerOut" on the TR-08 into the "TRIGGER" and "TEMPO" Inputs on the DFAM but neither produces the results I'm looking for. Is it possible? The TR-08 also has Midi IN/OUT.
megalonyx
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2018 6:56 pm
Location: Chicago IL

Re: Tempo Sync DFAM & Roland TR-08

Postby enotide » Tue Jan 30, 2018 4:05 pm

I did this this morning, Trigger out (tr-08) > Trigger in (DFAM), then Trigger out (DFAM) > ADV/CLOCK (DFAM) worked pretty good.
You will have to use the advance button (DFAM) to get the sequence to start where you want it.
enotide
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 9:55 pm
Location: Largo, Florida

Re: Tempo Sync DFAM & Roland TR-08

Postby megalonyx » Thu Feb 01, 2018 10:38 pm

It works and it’s awesome. I love that you can sequence when you want the triggers to be on the TR-08 and create interesting rhythms on the fly. It really opens up the possibilities!

Thanks enotide!
megalonyx
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2018 6:56 pm
Location: Chicago IL

Re: Tempo Sync DFAM & Roland TR-08

Postby enotide » Fri Feb 02, 2018 6:33 pm

It will work the Same way with the TR-09 as well :D
enotide
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 9:55 pm
Location: Largo, Florida

Re: Tempo Sync DFAM & Roland TR-08

Postby Gooey » Fri Feb 02, 2018 10:00 pm

enotide wrote:I did this this morning, Trigger out (tr-08) > Trigger in (DFAM), then Trigger out (DFAM) > ADV/CLOCK (DFAM) worked pretty good.
You will have to use the advance button (DFAM) to get the sequence to start where you want it.


Hey, good to know! I also have a tr8 and am thinking of getting the DFAM. Thanks for the tip on how to get them to jam together.
Gooey
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 3:02 am

Re: Tempo Sync DFAM & Roland TR-08

Postby Blackryder » Thu Feb 08, 2018 11:03 pm

You can also just patch the trigger out from your Tr08 (or anything that sends a trigger pulse) straight into the ADV/CLOCK input, and save the trigger patch points for doing other stuff.
Blackryder
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2018 10:58 pm

Re: Tempo Sync DFAM & Roland TR-08

Postby Acid Mitch » Sun Apr 08, 2018 10:51 am

enotide wrote:You will have to use the advance button (DFAM) to get the sequence to start where you want it.


Aye, no reset to step one deserves the facepalm of the year award. I’m surprised it made it into production with out this and makes me think the designers never actually used it along with other devices.
Acid Mitch
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 7:55 am

Re: Tempo Sync DFAM & Roland TR-08

Postby Acid Mitch » Sun Apr 08, 2018 10:53 am

Blackryder wrote:You can also just patch the trigger out from your Tr08 (or anything that sends a trigger pulse) straight into the ADV/CLOCK input, and save the trigger patch points for doing other stuff.


Correct. The trigger in is for when your using an external sequencer to trigger sounds. Nothing to do with sync.
Acid Mitch
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 7:55 am

Re: Tempo Sync DFAM & Roland TR-08

Postby toodee » Mon Jun 18, 2018 5:53 am

Blackryder wrote:You can also just patch the trigger out from your Tr08 (or anything that sends a trigger pulse) straight into the ADV/CLOCK input, and save the trigger patch points for doing other stuff.

Hi everyone, first post on here !

I recorded the TRIGGER output from the DFAM into my MPC, which sounds like any audio click. I'm now playing that sound back from the MPC into the TRIGGER input of the DFAM, then patching the TRIGGER output to the RUN/STOP input, and that works fine, as soon as the jack is in, the DFAM sequencer starts playing and sounds are triggered.
Yet, sending the same audio click into the ADV/CLOCK input instead has no effect, the RUN/STOP and TRIGGER buttons as well as the tempo knob still work as if nothing was plugged in ADV/CLOCK.

Is it normal, am I missing something ?
toodee
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 11:38 am

Tempo Sync DFAM Roland TR 08

Postby natalilialet » Wed Sep 19, 2018 4:50 pm

Hi,

How we can switch percussion or drum loops in sp 404 while sync with the
tempo? Its like using pattern A on pad-1 then use the fill-in on pad-2 and then come back to pattern A and all sync with tempo.
natalilialet
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 11:31 am


Return to Grandmother, Mother-32 & DFAM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest