Mother 32 with other modules

Mother-32, DFAM, Subharmonicon, Grandmother, Matriarch
circular_rhythms

Mother 32 with other modules

Post by circular_rhythms » Tue Dec 22, 2015 10:07 am

So I received my M32 yesterday, had a mess round with it for a couple of hours last night, very impressed with it, sounds great as a stand alone, I love it already. I have chosen the M32 (as it seems many others have) as a starter point for a modular system, and I bought a Make Noise Erbe Verbe as my first module as I thought this would be a good module to compliment the M32 to begin with.

So my complete novice question is, how do I patch the M32 to the Erbe Verb? I thought it would be:

M32 VCA OUT to EV AUDIO IN then EV AUDIO OUT to M32 EXT AUDIO IN - correct?

Am I correct in thinking that the audio from the Erbe Verb will then go through the M32 AUDIO OUT on the back panel into my soundcard? Or do I need a separate amp for my modular system such as the Intelijel uJack?

I know this is basic stuff but any pointers would be appreciated!

bathyscaaf

Re: Mother 32 with other modules

Post by bathyscaaf » Wed Dec 23, 2015 11:58 am

I'm not sure if this is correct (don't have a Mother32), but I think you may be sending the control voltage signal (the VCA's envelope) to the Erb Verb rather than the audio signal. I think you may need a quarter-inch to 1/8in cable from the audio out on the back of the mother32 to the in on the erb-verb. Could be wrong, but I don't see an audio out in the patching area (looking at Moog's manual).

If I'm right, then you'd also need something like the Rosie (MakeNOISE) to get the audio back out, though I guess you could use another adapter cable (though you would loose some volume control that way). Though I don't see amplitude control on the Rosie except for sends and returns. So maybe just the adapter cable.