Oscillator sync

System 55 • System 35 • Model 15
Rarecomponentadsr

Oscillator sync

Post by Rarecomponentadsr » Fri Jan 01, 2016 8:10 am

Does anyone have any tips or special tweaks for syncing oscillators ?

I'm using 921b's and basically slaving via sawtooth and adjusting octave and frequency on the controller...but is that it ? Is there any further adjustments apart from using different waveform and can syncing be taken any further ?

M00G

Re: Oscillator sync

Post by M00G » Sat Jan 02, 2016 1:43 am

I’ve only just received my Model 15, so I’m still a newbie with the Moog modules.
But I’ve noticed that if you send a slow sine wave to modulate the synchronising waveform, then the synced oscillators will move in and out of sync. They don’t do this smoothly but try and ‘hang-on’ to the synchronising frequency until they finally let go. They then move back into sync as the frequency returns. A little goes a long way here, so I run the incoming modulating sine through a 995 attenuator first. It makes for some unusual rhythmic synced/non-synced moogness. 8)

Also, don’t forget that the 921b oscillators will not just sync to the octaves, but also the whole number overtones or sub-tones.
This means that we can sync a fifth above or below as well (and maybe even others).

This is from the early Model 15 manual:
When the frequency of the synchronized output signal is to be a whole number multiple (perfect overtone) of the synchronizing input signal, the synchronizing waveform should be a sawtooth. When the frequency of the synchronized output signal is to be a whole number submultiple (perfect sub-harmonic) of the input synchronising signal, the input synchronizing waveform should be a sine.

I don’t know why this is so - mine seem to sync on either waveform.

Happy syncing….
--------------------
Last edited by M00G on Sat Jan 02, 2016 10:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

EricK

Post by EricK » Sat Jan 02, 2016 3:41 pm