Page 1 of 1

Fine tune mod - can't connect jumper cables to werkstatt

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2015 11:28 am
by neilasimpson
Hi!

I'm Neil. I'm very, very new to electronics and am trying out the fine tune mod (http://www.werkstattworkshop.com/?q=projects/fine-tune). However, I'm a bit stuck and confused. If you're able to offer any advice, I would really appreciate it.

In the video, the presenter is able to plug his jumper cables into holes in the Werkstatt circuit board (TP2 and TP12, I think). However, on my Werkstatt, these holes are filled in with small amounts of solder. Am I missing something? Will I need to solder the jumper cables to the board? Any advice on how best to proceed would be appreciated. Many thanks!

Re: Fine tune mod - can't connect jumper cables to werkstatt

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 1:09 pm
by grenert
Do you have a soldering iron? If you get some desolderting braid, you might be able to draw out the solder in the holes. Unfortunately, the opening may not completely clear and it could still not fit the jumper. If that doesn't work, then you could heat up the hole with the soldering iron while trying to push the jumper in there. As the remaining solder melts, you should be able to get the jumper in there. Of course, this may permanently solder your jumper in there. Hopefully that is OK with you.

Re: Fine tune mod - can't connect jumper cables to werkstatt

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 7:32 am
by neilasimpson
Hi Grenert

Thanks for your reply. Frustratingly, I'm trying to avoid soldering the circuit board. I'm very new to electronics and was hoping to be able to try a few mods out without having to solder. Partly because I want to make sure the mods work before doing anything too permanent, and partly because my soldering skills are extremely rudimentary and I don't want to damage the werkstatt. Overall, I think I'm just really confused about why the holed in my wekrstatt are filled in when those in the video are not. Surely they're all standardised?

Re: Fine tune mod - can't connect jumper cables to werkstatt

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 12:32 pm
by grenert
FWIW, mine were filled in, too. Not sure about standardization!
Do you have a continuity tester or multimeter that has one? You could see if there are open holes on the board that are electrically equivalent to the filled ones and use them instead.

Re: Fine tune mod - can't connect jumper cables to werkstatt

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 3:00 pm
by paramnesia
my Werkstatt board has TP2 & TP12 both filled in, it came that way new

Re: Fine tune mod - can't connect jumper cables to werkstatt

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 3:26 pm
by Struble
Same here.